Game Day Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Okay my husband just adout died over these hamburgers. I used Portabello mushrooms, bacon and monterey jack cheese for the filling. Per another viewer make small hamburgers and press the filling into the hamburger and place another patty on top and seal. In the meat mixture I used 1/3C. bread crumbs, 1 egg (egg beaters), 1 tsp. worchestshire sauce, 1 1/2 tsp. montreal steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
A great new twist for a burger! For those of you having trouble with the potatoes, simply buy a bag of shredded hash browns - very quick & simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
These burgers are a great alternative to the same old, same old burgers I always have. I bought a bag of pre-shredded hash brown potatos and fried them up before stuffing the burgers so I wouldn't have to worry about the potato cooking all the way through, it also added that yummy fried potato flavor! I've made these with lots of different variations for fillings but my favorite is potato, cheddar and crumbled bacon. My boyfriend's favorite is the original potato/mushroom/swiss. Any fillings work well for this burger so get creative! I gave my sister this recipe and she makes hers with cream cheese, avacado and sundried tomatoes, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
So good I couldn't believe it, I wish I'd found this recipe a long time ago. I grilled the burgers on the stove and bought pre-shredded potatoes and cooked them first. I also made really thin hamburger patties then put the filling on top of them, then placed another thin patty on top of that and sealed it up-way easier than making pockets. I'm sure you could stuff these with just about anything, but try the original first, it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
Very good. Instead of making a pocket, I halved each burger, pressed the filling (mushrooms, cheese) on one of the halves and then placed the other half on top. Anyway these are a family favorite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
These were tasty, but I felt the meat mixture was too sticky. I added 1 egg and 1/2 cp. breadcrumbs so the patties would be easier to form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
These were amazing! The first time we had them my husband was craving the leftovers all the next day! We've now made them twice, the first time with ground beef, and the onion soup (we also used the frozen hashbrowns instead of potatoes) and it was a bit to oniony for me (plus I really don't like beef), but we had them again this week with ground pork and I seasoned the meat with some dried onion, garlic and pepper and I liked it SO much more! SO YUMMY!! I can't wait to make them for a BBQ party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
My husband said that this was the best hamburger he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
These burgers are HUGE and very yummy. I used the shredded hashbrown poataoes as suggested and they worked great. I also used cheddar instead of swiss cheese. We'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
We left out the potatoe filling and ate hashbrowns as the side dish. Needs a little practice, but had a great flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States