Game Day Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delicious! I didn't realize how much water content the potato held until I started shredding it, and I swear it's why these burgers were so juicy and delicious. I didn't use the mushrooms because I wasn't sure if my guests would like them, and I only about 1/2 cup shredded Swiss, and I wish I had used more. I mixed all of it together with the ground beef rather than stuffed the fillings in the middle. They really came out perfect for this novice BBQ'er.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These were very onion-y! A bit too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
These were delicious! Did not use the potatoes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
It was heavenly and was a big hit at our bbq. I used frozen shredded potatoes and didn's use mushrooms. Cooked them first of course. I only had a few slices of swiss cheese so i tore them into pieces. I also used shredded mild cheddar which was ok but it wasn't as good as the swiss. For each burger, I shaped the ground beef mixture into two very thin patties, placed the potato/cheese mixture in the middle and sealed the edges by pinching/twisting/tucking. I made the mistake of just pinching the edges and the two patties separated on the grill, so i would suggest even somewhat kneading the edges with your fingers. Prepping these burgers were a little more time consuming than I wished, but IT WAS WORTH EVERY MINUTE. I'm so glad i doubled the recipe and froze extras. It's even tasty with ketchup and rice or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Thank you! These were excellent and the whole family loved them. I changed it around only because my youngest can't stand swiss cheese or mushrooms. I used shredded cheddar and real bacon, crumbled, not the imitation stuff. I also decided to divide the meat into 12 portions for stuffing. I laid out the first six, topped with the potato/cheese/bacon, then used the remaining six portions to top them off and seal them closed. My other "cheat" was to use thawed shredded hash browns instead of shredding my own potato. These burgers will be made again at my house for sure! Thank you very much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Good burgers! Was unsure of how to actually cook the burgers w/o burning the potato mushrm mix, so we just fried the mixture and placed it on burger then put a slice of swiss on top, burgers were tasty! Served it with a guac dip & potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
these were so good! never woulda thought to put potatoes in a burger! i used: 1 lb ground turkey (w/onion soup mixh, egg beaters, splash of worchestershire) to make 4 burgers, 1 small potato, 1/2 wedge of laughing cow swiss cheese light, garlic, and turkey bacon to make it a bit healthier. these were big and juicy and yum! i cooked the potato with garlic before stuffing it between buger halves- i will definitely make again! (i put jalapenos in the ones for my bf... he looooved them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yeah these were pretty delectable...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good but my only complaint is that the potatoes did not cook at all. I think the recipe should call for cooked/microwaved potatoes. Other than they they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
These were yummy, I used the suggested shredded hash browns inside instead of the potato, just make sure they are thawed first and add a bit of salt and pepper to the hash brown mix. I also added chopped fresh onions into the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri Dameron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States