Galette des Rois Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is a really simple and delicious way to make this cake. If you don't want to spend the $8 dollars to buy a tube of almond paste, you can make your own before hand. To make enough paste for this galette, I mixed together in the food processor: *1/2 cup unsalted slivered baking almonds (until they are finely chopped or close to powder), then add *1/4 powdered sugar *1/4 white sugar *1/4 almond extract *1/8-1/4 cup water (to make consistency of paste). Refrigerate before putting onto cake bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe has a very authentic taste and is SO easy! I used the Pepperridge Farm Puff Pastry Sheets, and the first time that I made this galette, the bottom layer was very doughy, so the next time, I pre-cooked the bottom layer 10-12 minutes at 425 on my stoneware, let it cool, then resumed the rest as described in the original directions... it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I think that 1/4 cup of almond paste is way too little. I used an entire roll of almond paste -- twice the amount called for in the recipe -- and that seemed to me to be the correct amount. I also used a bit more sugar and a T of water to make up for the difference in the extra almond paste. Other than the wrong amount of almond paste, it's a good recipe. I would think, though, that it would maybe be better to put on a second egg wash with a good amount of regular sugar rather than the powdered sugar. This way, I think that the gallette would have a shellaced quality and you'd be able to see the criss-cross pattern on its top much better. Easy and impressive cake,though, in spite of my criticism, I'm going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Bonjour, Ulybert - Ja'i etait eleve en France et je cherchais une recette pour une de mes patisseries preferee. Une amie francaise m'a donne une recette, sans la pate d'amandes (?) en me disant que s'etait traditionelle. Votre recette est ce que je m'ensouviendrai - Bravo et merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
What an excellent recipe! I visisted France last year during the holidays and tried a galette des rois there, so I was very pleased to find this recipe. It came out great and tasted as delicious as the one I had in France. Merci beaucoup for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Super easy and delicious! These are not easy to find in our area, and clearly this recipe will be the solution. I've had these @home and even in the school cafeteria in high school in France, but fresh and warm from the oven is hard to beat. Agree with reviewer Annsera that 1/4 c almond paste might be a bit scanty - I increased it to almost 1/2 c. Also increased cooking time to about 18 minutes for fully baked look. I'm not much of a cook but true to the reviews, this was quite easy to make and the result is attractive and delicious. A huge hit with the family. Now we have time to make more and share with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Very good, but make sure to bake long enough. Even though I added about 10 minutes to bake time, it was still a but doughy. I would disregard the cooking time next time and bake until golden brown on top and bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My husband is French and we lived there for a few years. My in-laws were here for a visit and I was nervous because they're rather picky. I decided to try this recipe and it was a huge success. I would argue that it's even better than some I bought from a boulangerie in Paris. I had to make the almond paste from scratch, but it was much easier than I imagined. Excellent recipe - just make sure you use a good puff pastry. Bon année!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Simply outstanding! I served this warm, although I bet it would taste just as delicious cold. The filling blended so nicely with the puff pastry. It truly melted with each bite. I doubled the almond paste as I wanted to use the remainder of a can I had recently opened and kept everything else the same. A few reviewers mentioned a soggy bottom so I pre-baked mine for 5 minutes (removed after it puffed about an inch and a half and was just beginning to turn golden around the edges). It will flatten immediately, but don't worry it will puff up again once it goes back into the oven! I would not bake any longer than 5 minutes because some of the filling is meant to bake into the layers. I'm tempted to layer some fruit (blueberries) inside next time. Would be great served with ice cream as well. Many thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
In France, we make our own almond paste. It's so, so easy to make. Mix butter,almond meal, sugar, eggs, rum & almond extract. I bake mine 375° for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States