Galette des Rois Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Simply outstanding! I served this warm, although I bet it would taste just as delicious cold. The filling blended so nicely with the puff pastry. It truly melted with each bite. I doubled the almond paste as I wanted to use the remainder of a can I had recently opened and kept everything else the same. A few reviewers mentioned a soggy bottom so I pre-baked mine for 5 minutes (removed after it puffed about an inch and a half and was just beginning to turn golden around the edges). It will flatten immediately, but don't worry it will puff up again once it goes back into the oven! I would not bake any longer than 5 minutes because some of the filling is meant to bake into the layers. I'm tempted to layer some fruit (blueberries) inside next time. Would be great served with ice cream as well. Many thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was fantastic, fast and easy. I happened to have some almond butter so I just cut down on the butter by one T and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Super easy and delicious! These are not easy to find in our area, and clearly this recipe will be the solution. I've had these @home and even in the school cafeteria in high school in France, but fresh and warm from the oven is hard to beat. Agree with reviewer Annsera that 1/4 c almond paste might be a bit scanty - I increased it to almost 1/2 c. Also increased cooking time to about 18 minutes for fully baked look. I'm not much of a cook but true to the reviews, this was quite easy to make and the result is attractive and delicious. A huge hit with the family. Now we have time to make more and share with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Very good, but make sure to bake long enough. Even though I added about 10 minutes to bake time, it was still a but doughy. I would disregard the cooking time next time and bake until golden brown on top and bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very good!! East to make! I am not a cake baker and not into very sweet desserts! I served it with a couple of scoops of vanilla ice cream. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
delicious, but used marzipan instead of almond paste and dusted with icing sugar afterwards and drizzled with melted chocolate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Couldn't be easier! I used homemade puff pastry, but other than that followed it exactly. It was fantastic. It really only takes about 5 minutes to throw together once the pastry is done. People were going crazy for it to at the party I took it to. This will become a staple recipe for me. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely amazing! This is soo easy to make and yet it is down right perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Bonjour, Ulybert - Ja'i etait eleve en France et je cherchais une recette pour une de mes patisseries preferee. Une amie francaise m'a donne une recette, sans la pate d'amandes (?) en me disant que s'etait traditionelle. Votre recette est ce que je m'ensouviendrai - Bravo et merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wow, wow, wow! I love anything with Almond Paste, but this was absolutley amazing. It looks pretty impressive too, which is always a good thing. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States