Galaktoboureko Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made the recipe today for the first time and it turned out amazing. It reminded me of the galaktoboureko I get from the Greek Bakery but better. Definitely worth the effort to make. I used a pan that was bigger than the recipe called for so I increased all the ingredients proportionately and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Turned out just as good as Greek friend's! They said had better texture...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My favorite greek dessert. its best when its still warm and syrupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Just came to Athens Greece to retire from the USA...and just try to pull off an american greek trying to cook authentic greek dishes...well many of yours are winners....and this one is the best of the best...."Can't fool a Greek?....Ya you can! Try this one, and DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Save a ton of fat calories and make without a crust. Serve as a custard with the syrup and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was amazing! Used it for a ladies dessert while planning a vacation to Greece this summer. Slight modifications only: I used less than 1/2 of the sugar water mixture because I sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon and icing sugar powder on the top before serving (sprinkle after you've cut it). I used a good quality pizza cutter to cut it. This worked really well. Lots of oouuwwss and auuwwees before and after. My daughter even took some pictures of it. Great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have made a lot of galaktoboureko and this recipe is just about perfect. The only thing I changed was to put some orange zest and cloves into the syrup and I like to boil it about 10 minutes. I also cover the baking dish in phyllo so that it completely encloses the custard but that's a preference of mine. I was mostly looking for a good custard recipe and this one is the best I've found. I think it's the cornstarch that makes the difference. Thanks for sharing, GAPGIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Storrs, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
i'm not sure how to say it, but its delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was excellent but myself and all of my Greek in-laws agreed it was a bit too gritty. I will try it again using a bit less semolina and a bit more milk. (maybe a tad more cornstarch to compensate for the missing semolina). I added the juice of 1/2 a lemon to the water/sugar syrup to cut a bit of the sweeteness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have to admit, this recipe intimidated me at first. I followed the directions to a tee and Voila….A desert that looked and tasted like it came right out of a Greek bakery. Now, if I could only master pronouncing Galaktoboureko correctly :) It was enjoyed by us all! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States