G-ma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
My hispanic father-in-law also gave me this recipe! The only suggestion I have is he told me to use HOT water when you add it in. This seems to help the texture. Now my husband enjoys spanish rice the way he likes! (Dry texture-not moist/mushy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This rice is exactly the kind of rice you will find in a "traditional" Mexican restaurant. I am not sure why a couple of people only gave this three stars. Frankly, it was great! Their complaints were that it was bland. However, the point to this dish is that it is to be a side dish. It has a mild flavor, but is to be an accompaniment to the main course. I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I really liked this! I halved it & cooked it in my rice cooker. Used 1/2 chicken broth mixed with the water. It cooked up beautifully. My 3 boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Living in Phoenix, we have had a chance to try MANY mexican / spanish rice dishes! However, we feel this recipe really captures the "true" taste of how it's done! I used real minced garlic, slightly less pepper, and the exact amount of ground cumin. Be careful to not place more cumin than recipe calls for as it would be too strong a flavor & overtake the rice. You can add salt to taste per individual taste after it's cooked. We have declared this as our favorite family rice side dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Believe it or not, a lot of AUTHENTIC Mexican dishes are bland. If you choose recipes that are authentic you will either want to spice it up to your own taste, or just stay away from them altogether if you don't care for bland foods. I happen to love authentic Mexican food and this rice dish is marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I gave this a 3 because I'm actually not really sure what to rate it. It's a good idea...it's the way my hubby said his abuela used to make rice. However, he said it's supposed to be fluffy and this definitely didn't come out fluffy. The flavor is right where it's supposed to be. It's not supposed to have an overwhelming flavor, I guess. This isn't spanish rice. However, I'm looking for a way to make it fluffy...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Wonderful, simple rice, definitely best served as a jazzed-up side dish to accompany black beans, or quesadillas etc... I agree w/ other reviewers that it's a bit on the mild (no, no not bland!) side, but it is what it is -- a nicely-seasoned simple rice, that's more interesting that just plain ol' white rice. I made it as written, except that I toasted the rice dry, added the ingredients up to water, then added boiling water, so that upon being turned to low and covered, it was perfectly done to the right taste and texture in 20 min. Served it alongside chipotle chicken breasts with a sprinkle of green onions for color, and melty cheese. I would gladly make it again as a side to another Mexican entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This tastes exactly like the rice you can get at THE fast food chain. Perfect copycat. I found it to be dry and I have to agree with the others who said it's bland. It definitely needs more salt. Not sure I'd use this particular recipe again. If I did, major tweaking would be necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I did the recipe exactly as stated and ran into one little snag. I cooked the rice for the 20 minutes and when I opened the lid it was still really soupy. I brought everything to a boil and then reduced the heat and simmered for 15 minutes (Just like you would prepare regular rice). Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very disappointed in this recipe. Turns out to be very very bland. The recipe on here called Mexican Rice II is MUCH better, and not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States