G-ma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Traditional and very good--it turned out perfect. I added finely diced onion halfway through browning the rice. I suggest increasing the salt and cutting back on the pepper, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This rice was delicious! It helps to have a heavy stainless steel pan to heat rice evenly when browning. I really enjoyed this rice. I just added a few tablespoons of onion in with the garlic and also added a large chicken boiullion. Garnish with fresh cilantro and lime wedges. Thanks for a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This was ok, just an average side dish. I found it bland after it was done so I sauteed some onions and added some more cayenne, another clove of garlic, and some more salt and pepper and mixed it in with the rice. That improved it a lot. I'd probably make it again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I don't know what I was expecting, but this just wasn't that good. Plus, I had to add more water and cook longer after the first 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
MY husband even went for seconds and he does not care for rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This rice is exactly the kind of rice you will find in a "traditional" Mexican restaurant. I am not sure why a couple of people only gave this three stars. Frankly, it was great! Their complaints were that it was bland. However, the point to this dish is that it is to be a side dish. It has a mild flavor, but is to be an accompaniment to the main course. I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This recipe is simple and delicious. I added chopped onions for added flavor. My family loves this as a side dish served with refried beans and tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE1COOKING

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
this was a great side dish. We put in tortilla's with fajitas. The recipe makes a huge serving and for two average adults it was WAY to much food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very disappointed in this recipe. Turns out to be very very bland. The recipe on here called Mexican Rice II is MUCH better, and not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States