G-ma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This rice is yummy. This was my first time making Mexican rice, and being such a big Mexican food fan, I'm impressed with this recipe. I didn't really measure any of my spices/ salt/ pepper, and I added some green bell pepper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyBakerBrittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was very good rice. I'll use this again for sure. My DH wrapped this in his flour tortillas along with the seasoned meat. Perfect for picky eaters too as there is no onion, no green peppers, and no chunks of tomatoes in this. I used the juice I drained from the fire roasted tomatoes I was using for an accompanying salsa for this instead of the tomato sauce. I used morelos rice and garlic powder. I've also done this as written with the tomato sauce and with minced garlic, still great but a tad better with the changes I had to do the other time. Thanks so much Txcookingprincess, I loved grandma's rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Good. Will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I gave this a 3 because I'm actually not really sure what to rate it. It's a good idea...it's the way my hubby said his abuela used to make rice. However, he said it's supposed to be fluffy and this definitely didn't come out fluffy. The flavor is right where it's supposed to be. It's not supposed to have an overwhelming flavor, I guess. This isn't spanish rice. However, I'm looking for a way to make it fluffy...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I did the recipe exactly as stated and ran into one little snag. I cooked the rice for the 20 minutes and when I opened the lid it was still really soupy. I brought everything to a boil and then reduced the heat and simmered for 15 minutes (Just like you would prepare regular rice). Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This rice recipe had a strong tomato aroma, and it lacked in flavor. In actuality, I felt it almost had a sour taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Very good, but after adding the water, you may want it to boil before turning heat down and putting on lid. It soaks up more of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
It was dry and sticky with no taste. I added one 16 oz. jar of picant sauce. And some taco sauce.Which gave it some taste.. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Used brown rice and chicken stock instead of water came out great. Added peas and topped with green onion when I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
We loved this recipe. I have now replaced my old recipe for the rice with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States