G-ma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Not quite sure what I did wrong, I followed the directions exactly, but I ended up with a soupy mess. I tried boiling for 15 minutes like another reviewer suggested but the rice was done for. Won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
bland even for a side dish, good to put in burritos though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOGIC737

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
i am not much on rice dishes but this is GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Believe it or not, a lot of AUTHENTIC Mexican dishes are bland. If you choose recipes that are authentic you will either want to spice it up to your own taste, or just stay away from them altogether if you don't care for bland foods. I happen to love authentic Mexican food and this rice dish is marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was okay; I was kind of disappointed. It lacked alot of seasoning. I had to add salt at the table because it was still bland. I think next time I'll try a different recipe. By the way, it makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I made this for a church dinner party.Topped it with some mexican cheese blend. It was great!A big hit with the crowd. Then put leftovers in a pot with refried beans and salsa. Also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornelia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is how my grandmother makes it. Mix it in with you beans and some tortillas and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I really liked this! I halved it & cooked it in my rice cooker. Used 1/2 chicken broth mixed with the water. It cooked up beautifully. My 3 boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very good dish! However, I changed the way of cooking the rice since I was using par-broiled rice for this recipe. I boiled the rice before adding to the skillet to brown it for 1 minute. Adding cumin to the mix is a great idea; the rice turned out very tasty as a result. I will definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I followed the recipe to the "T" and #1 it didn't cook. I had to bring the mixture to a boil first, then let simmer. #2 it didn't have much flavor on it's own. It would be great in a burrito or as a base to something else, but we were disappointed in it as a plain side. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States