Fusion Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Personally, this was too vinegary for me. The only thing I liked about the vinegar was that it reduced the astonishing amount of salt I always seem to add to my regular hummus recipe. However, taste-wise, I prefer traditional hummus...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Fresh, unique flavor and so easy to make! I used dried rosemary (1 tsp for 2 sprigs fresh) and doubled the garlic. I also used a bit less balsamic vinegar and used most of the liquid from the can of garbanzo beans rather than cold water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Sorry, no one ate this when I served it at a potluck. I liked it okay--it was quite dark because of the balsamic vinegar, so this may have turned people off trying it. I prefer my hummus less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I LOVED this recipe, and chose it because of the balsamic vinegar in the recipe. I usually do not cook with rosemary, so I was going to add it in the end if it needed something. It was great without it. I also added a tsp of oil to make it a little lighter. Served on ak-mak seasame crackers. YUM! This is my favorite hummus recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My husband loved this and I didn't really care for it. I think you really need to like Rosemary it was just too strong for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I really like this recipe. Made it for my sis's birthday party. Many compliments. Only variations I made to recipe is doubled the garlic and I didn't need all the liquid. Cut back whereever you want. Have made this recipe as another reviewer suggested with 1 part garbanzos and 1 part black beans. The black beans are slightly heathier, but for guests I would recommend sticking to the garbanzos. Looks less muddy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I got lots of compliments on it but it's not really my flavor for hummus. Be careful on the vinegar...taste as you add. I blended a bunch of crumbled feta - very nice addition. Rosemary adds excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliKupcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boelus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Great recipe. I made half the quantity but added the juice of half a lemon, instead of adding water, for that extra tang. This also eliminated the need for adding salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe! I was making a dish for a party. I used a spicy hummus recipe, but for my friends who can't handle the heat, I chose this recipe. I have never seen a hummus made without tahini- I have always thought that was a staple ingredient so I added 3 tablespoons to a doubled recipe. Could have used more, but it was just fine without it. The recipe isn't clear whether to use the chickpea brine or to drain it. I separated the two and then used just enough brine to replace the oil. Other than that I didn't mess with the ingredients at all. I thought it had a more wholesome, homemade taste/texture than that super-light fluffy stuff you can get in the store. I don't feel like I get my money's worth out of the store bought brands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Good ... the fresh rosemary is a great addition ... I added some fresh parsley, too, as one reviewer suggested ... also, I just left the oil out completely, to cut fat/calories ... it came together great without it! Oh, and for those who like a bit of a kick: A shake of cayenne does it nicely! Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States