Fusion Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Wanted to give this recipe a try since I'm a big fan of using Ancho peppers in chili recipes, versus using that tasteless/gritty grocery store chili pepper. One thing I noticed is that this recipe seems to be a bit short in liquid as the chili was very dry (difficult to even stir). All in all, it was very good, but I did make the following modifications. First, I had to add more liquid to the Ancho peppers as there was no way they were going to puree in a blender without doing so. Second, as mentioned, the chili itself seemed very dry, so I added a bottle of lager beer. Third, as most here did, I cut the honey in half. All in all, the chili was very good tasting, although my kids thought it was bit too spicy. Maybe Ancho peppers have a range of "hotness", don't know. For the 1/4C of hot sauce, I used Tapatio hot sauce (which isn't real spicy). Perhaps I'll just eliminate the hot sauce next time...although doing so means I'll have to add another 1/4 cup of liquid to make up for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Won 1st place with this bad boy! The honey was not overpowering at all! I used Chicken broth in place of water and added one chicken bouillion as well. Other than that, same same. Thanks for a chili-tastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefisgreat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I used to have a recipe for chili that I thought was good. I tried this one and I'll never make chili any other way. I find myself craving a bowl at least once a week! I freeze it in individual portions and it's totally awesome! Don't need crackers, cheese, anything. The only thing I have changed is using half of the honey. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is hands down the BEST chili I've ever had. I've made it 3 times now and get rave reviews every time. The honey gives it a nice sweetness that I don't think is overbearing. For the hot sauce I use Sriracha which, along with the ancho chile paste, gives it just the right amount of kick and I love the sweet/spicy combo. I like to make it the night before and reheat it the next day, it really helps infuse the flavors and makes it taste even better. This recipe is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was the most amazing chili that I ever made!! My staff and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Love this recipe! I've made it several times! The prep work is a little time consuming the first time around but it's well worth it! Authentic chili! And it yields a lot of chili, good for a family or potluck get together...I used the canned ancho chili peppers ...and something I learned after the first batch I made was too spicy, you may want to remove the seeds and rinse the peppers and then chop or place in food processor..I didn't realize how potent those things were...! I used 3-4 whole ones the first time with seeds included...! Set my stomach on fire, and my wasn't too happy either! Definitely cut down on the prep time by using the canned ancho chili peppers though..;) delicious! I made sure the next batch I made was mild...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had some leftover ancho chills to use, so I searched high and low for a recipe in which I could incorporate them. I found this and was intrigued. I followed EVERYTHING except I omitted the celery because I had none. Instead, I threw in an extra cup of carrots. At the end, neither my husband nor I were impressed at all. He's from Mexico, so he mostly enjoys the smoky, spicy flavored recipes; however, this was a no go. It was too "smoky" for us and the spice was a bit much for me. I didn't get what everyone was saying about the sweetness. The spice was so overpowering that I could barely taste the honey. In the end, for as long as it took to make and the disappointing results, I have decided I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love this chili and so does everyone I've made it for. It tastes amazing...literally an explosion of flavors. It's the only recipe for chili I use now. I always follow the directions exactly and it turns out amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Hindley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
No leftovers at my house. I was told to make it again. I did make a few minor changes but this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alma, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is great. I does take done time but not a ton of skill. It is just great flavors that melt together to make a sweet, savory, and spicy dish. I made the recipe as is, with the addition of some spicy chili paste. I love really spicy dishes and it made it perfect for me and my family. The nice thing about this recipe is that you can make small variation to fit the taste you prefer and stl have a great dish because it is filled with so great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States