Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I will never spend 5 bucks on funnel cakes at the fair again! Finding the right size funnel in my area has been difficult so we just drizzle them out of a small glass measuring cup. The kids love these topped with vanilla pudding and whipped topping straight from the can, I prefer fresh strawberries and cream :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Excellent. Like other fried foods, very oily. We added extra flour to make it thicker. It took us two tries before we finally got it right. The first time, it got stuck to the deep fryer's cage/handle-thing, so we removed it. Second, we poured it in too fast and it was a giant blob that didn't cook on the inside. Third time(correct) we poured a small stream in and made circles. The dough started collecting randomly at the top, and then we connected them so they it looked like a real funnel cake. We're college students with minimal cooking experience, and it turned out great, so I believe that the negative comment here was due to the cooks, not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I liked this recipe because it wasn't incredibly sweet dough. I just halfed the batch which made 3 funnel cakes for us! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANNARAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Haven, Virginia, USA
Living In: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
this cake was disgusting my whole family hated it and said "eww where did u get this disgusting cake "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I found the recipe to be great. The only thing I changed was I used a cake decorator which was faster then useing the funnel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
they tasted like the real thing! i didn't have a funnel, so i used a pastry bag instead. it didn't really hold together while frying, so i made a second batch with more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I love this recipe. It was so easy to prepare and make everyone loved it. You can get fair style cakes at home for less than what they charge at those fairs. Amen to that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I am so glad that I don't have to drive all the way to santa cruz to get a funnel cake. The recipe was great and easy. I added fresh strawberries and whip cream, great alternative for strawberry short cake. kim costa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is soooo Good. While frying them my house filled up with the smell of our county fair; when they make funnel cakes. I recommend this to any one wanting a good funnel cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was great and very easy. I used a heavy skillet and just enough oil to coat the pan. I put the batter in a washed out ketchup bottle. It was a bit of a pain getting the batter in the bottle, but it worked perfectly squeezing the dough out in thin ribbons. I just added more oil as necessary. The kids all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States