Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
The best funnel cake recipe I have ever made. Taste just like the ones you get at the State Fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
We usually get that at the fair once a year so it was nice to find this recipe to try. I halved the batter and mixed up however couldn't find my funnel! Decided to try a disposable plastic pastry bag. I folded the end up with paper clip to start and placed bag in a mug to fill up. It was a little tricky to handle but worked fine plus I got to throw away the bag! Be careful and don't try and turn too soon or they will break into pieces. I got 3 cakes out of the batter and did each differently. Powdered sugar, cinnamon/sugar and the powdered sugar/milk glaze. They disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
YUM! these get rave reviews whenever I make them! I sometimes use a piping bag to pipe batter into oil (a little less messy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Another idea to add besides vanilla would be various toppings...I was at a county fair last week and had a delicious funnel cake...the newest trend is the toppings. Forget just fresh strawberries & whip cream...try caramel or chocolate sauce or strawberry preserves, even apple/cinn. spices, or instead of dipping canybars into the funnel cake mix & deep frying try crushing a candy bar up and sprinkling it over the caramel or chocolate glaze! :O) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very good, I added a little vanilla to the dough, mmm. Everyone loved the cakes and the leftover cakes were good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I loved this recipes. I fried them in a fry daddy & it made about 5 plate sized. I also added about 1/4 tsp. of vanilla! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I actually used this recipe to make Deep Fried Candy Bars. Put a stick in the end of your favorite candy bar (I use Milky Way and 3 Musketeers), freeze them, batter them with this batter and deep fry until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I Love Them!! I was searching for an easy drop doughnut recipe and came across this instead. I too added about 1/4c sugar and 1/4c Splenda(R) so my kids won't bounce off the walls too much. I used a small skillet, less oil and just drizzeled batter in with a spoon and cooked until they looked ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Just like at the baseball game. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I love, LOVE these...and anytime I can get one...I DO. The only thing I changed with this was to use a pastry bag instead of a funnel (didn't have one to use). It actually worked quite well. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States