Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The ONLY thing I did differently to the recipe was to use 1/2 cinnamon and 1/2 pumpkin pie spice everything else I followed to the letter. I thought these tasted EXACTLY like funnel cakes from the fair. To the people that complained they weren't sweet enough - what makes funnel cakes sweet is the topping. That's what the powdered sugar is for (or fruit etc). It also makes a big difference what kind of oil you fry them in and the temperature. I did try (on one cake) using barely any oil in a pan (like one reviewer said) and it came out flat almost like a tortilla. Let's face it - these aren't health food so if you want it authentic you're gonna have to deep fry it in Crisco. I did hear Crisco has come out with a non trans fat oil. I'll have to try it. I think this recipe is 100%. I wouldn't add sugar to the batter at all. I also used a measuring cup to drizzle the batter into the pan. Once you get the hang of it these are pretty easy. They got rave reviews at my house, we just won't be eating them too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It was awful the first try. I ended up adding Nutmeg and Sugar. It now tastes delicious!! I don't think it matters how long you cook it because you'll know when it's ready. I used a measuring cup, but basically anything with a spout will work brilliantly. I'm rating this recipe a 2/5 because the original was BLAND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzmerp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was an easy recipe with great results! Other recipes I saw used the cream puff method or added baking soda, which to me can add a certain taste if not balanced just right. I took other reviewers suggestions however and modified the recipe slightly by adding a teaspoon of vanilla to the egg/milk mixture and 2 tablespoons of superfine sugar to the flour mixture. The only other modification was to use 2% milk instead of whole milk. Since I didn't have confectioner's sugar, I did the old standby of adding some cornstarch to a cup of sugar and blasting it in the blender for a couple of minutes. The results were fantastic. With the oil at the right temperature, it was almost a flash fry... the oil didn't have time to set in. Came out very crispy and once dusted with the confectioner's sugar, it didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These taste just like carnival funnel cakes. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe is very good, leave the recipe as is. It comes out slow from a funnel, but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great basic batter! I would only say add a touch of syrup or sugar to give it just a bit more sweet, but other than that, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reen
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I wanted to see what this cake tasted like exactly, so I followed the recipe exactly. While it's not the funnel cake from a carnival, it's still very good. I will follow the recipe when I make it again, as I didn't think it needed improvement. If I do want a change, I'll try someone else's recipe first. That said, It's important to have the oil at the right temperature in order for the cakes to come out correctly. Just cooking them a little longer or a little shorter doesn't work with funnel cake. 360 to 375 is perfect. Cook approximately 1 minute per side or crispier go 1 1/2 min per side. A must (for me, anyway) is the funnel cake pitcher. See photo. It makes it so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Served at my son's birthday party. Easy to make and tasted good as well. Added more cinnamon and some sugar to the batter for flavor. Use a ketchup botttle with the opening cut out for more even and precise cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as directed, and it came out beautifully. My husband ate 4 plates of it... I think it liked it. ;) Great funnel cake. Anyone who thinks it's horrible, obviously didn't do as directed... Oh, and I also added some cherry pie filly on top, came out great. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
very very VERY good, i topped it with strawberry sauce, also from this site, came out DELICIOUS. very happy, definetly will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricochetjuliet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States