Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
very good, just like the carnivals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Just like the fair! Any time I am at a place that sells funnel cakes I must have one! -- And I don't share!! Good thing I am only around these places about every other year. And at $5 a pop and every delectable calorie, these are a rare treat. Thank you Tarmia for the recipe. We don't eat out often but my kids constantly ask for 'any specific resturaunt joint.' It is nice to have a few special recipes in the bag, like this one, that my kids can request. Though not the healthiest (since I stock every item needed to make this recipe year round) but it is wonderful to have once or twice a year at home as a treat. I will never spend fair prices again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These were very good. First we tried making them in the deep fryer. It got stuck in the grates. Once they were removed, the batter stuck to the heating coils. Then, we tried a cast-iron skillet on the stove. That worked well. We were making them for 7 people. We had a chance to perfect our skills. We used a glass measuring cup, poured slowly, make big cirly-q's so that when it puffs up you still have space in between the lines. We topped with powdered sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These taste just like those you buy at the carnivals. I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
great recipe. my husband is a funnel cake fanatic, so this is perfect for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
The best funnel cake recipe I have ever made. Taste just like the ones you get at the State Fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
We usually get that at the fair once a year so it was nice to find this recipe to try. I halved the batter and mixed up however couldn't find my funnel! Decided to try a disposable plastic pastry bag. I folded the end up with paper clip to start and placed bag in a mug to fill up. It was a little tricky to handle but worked fine plus I got to throw away the bag! Be careful and don't try and turn too soon or they will break into pieces. I got 3 cakes out of the batter and did each differently. Powdered sugar, cinnamon/sugar and the powdered sugar/milk glaze. They disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
YUM! these get rave reviews whenever I make them! I sometimes use a piping bag to pipe batter into oil (a little less messy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Another idea to add besides vanilla would be various toppings...I was at a county fair last week and had a delicious funnel cake...the newest trend is the toppings. Forget just fresh strawberries & whip cream...try caramel or chocolate sauce or strawberry preserves, even apple/cinn. spices, or instead of dipping canybars into the funnel cake mix & deep frying try crushing a candy bar up and sprinkling it over the caramel or chocolate glaze! :O) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very good, I added a little vanilla to the dough, mmm. Everyone loved the cakes and the leftover cakes were good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States