Funnel Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Added a little more sugar to make my batter a little sweeter. TIP: I couldnt find my correct size funnel so I just used a ketchup bottle!! Easy clean up, less to no mess either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
this was the best recipe. I will be making more of these in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
The kids and I had a great time making then eating this recipe. I found the simplicity of the recipe and process a fun way to work with teaching the kids basic cooking techniques -measuring, etc... Love the experience of making this recipe. Its taste is accurate to the fun fare and the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I am obsessed with funnel cake!! This didn't seem quite the same as the pro's make it, but it was still really good. I didn't have enough oil for the 8 cups to fry it, so next time I'll be sure to use all 8 and see if that changes anything. The kids were in heaven when I made this, it was a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The ONLY thing I did differently to the recipe was to use 1/2 cinnamon and 1/2 pumpkin pie spice everything else I followed to the letter. I thought these tasted EXACTLY like funnel cakes from the fair. To the people that complained they weren't sweet enough - what makes funnel cakes sweet is the topping. That's what the powdered sugar is for (or fruit etc). It also makes a big difference what kind of oil you fry them in and the temperature. I did try (on one cake) using barely any oil in a pan (like one reviewer said) and it came out flat almost like a tortilla. Let's face it - these aren't health food so if you want it authentic you're gonna have to deep fry it in Crisco. I did hear Crisco has come out with a non trans fat oil. I'll have to try it. I think this recipe is 100%. I wouldn't add sugar to the batter at all. I also used a measuring cup to drizzle the batter into the pan. Once you get the hang of it these are pretty easy. They got rave reviews at my house, we just won't be eating them too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It was awful the first try. I ended up adding Nutmeg and Sugar. It now tastes delicious!! I don't think it matters how long you cook it because you'll know when it's ready. I used a measuring cup, but basically anything with a spout will work brilliantly. I'm rating this recipe a 2/5 because the original was BLAND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzmerp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was an easy recipe with great results! Other recipes I saw used the cream puff method or added baking soda, which to me can add a certain taste if not balanced just right. I took other reviewers suggestions however and modified the recipe slightly by adding a teaspoon of vanilla to the egg/milk mixture and 2 tablespoons of superfine sugar to the flour mixture. The only other modification was to use 2% milk instead of whole milk. Since I didn't have confectioner's sugar, I did the old standby of adding some cornstarch to a cup of sugar and blasting it in the blender for a couple of minutes. The results were fantastic. With the oil at the right temperature, it was almost a flash fry... the oil didn't have time to set in. Came out very crispy and once dusted with the confectioner's sugar, it didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These taste just like carnival funnel cakes. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This recipe is very good, leave the recipe as is. It comes out slow from a funnel, but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great basic batter! I would only say add a touch of syrup or sugar to give it just a bit more sweet, but other than that, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States