Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
OMG! I only made half of the batch. I added about 1 teaspoon vanilla and about 1/4 cup sugar to the batter. I don't have a kitchen funnel so I used a ziploc bag with a corner cut off. These were awesome, really simple to make, quick to fry...delicious...what else? They are just great. I used two spatulas to flip them over. Whatever you use to flip them make sure you grab them in the middle because the corners will be crispier and break off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
A very good recipe. I have seen that some have used ziploc bags but we used an old mustard bottle and it worked perfectly! plus it is a good container to refrigerate any leftover you may have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I don't think it was the recipie, but I'm not sure what happened...I halved this recipe, used a deep fryer and candy thermometer to make sure the oil was at 360. When I poured the batter in the hot oil, it expanded and oil poured over the top of the deep fryer. I unplugged the fryer and the funnel cake continued to cook....looked right in the end but we couldn't eat it - it tasted like it was saturated with oil (probably because the temp dropped). Anyone have any ideas on what I may have done wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We added 1 tsp of vanilla and 2 TBSP of sugar and this came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
it's a great recipe! the only problem i'm having is as soon as the batter hits the oil..it goes straight to the bottom of the pan, so i stir it..the batter sticks to the spatula then all the batter breaks up into little balls - i don't know what i'm doing wrong...after a few min, everything tunrs brown and we have mini balls of fyred dough...not exactly what we expected.. i must say i does taste like funnel cake...just doesn't look like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eskubus
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Good stuff! However, not advised for party of two. Otherwise, 1/5 the ingredients and you'll have just enough to satisfy your cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eskubus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontianak, Kalimantan Barat, Indonesia
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I have used this recipe for three years. The original receipe is only a 3-4 star recipe. I've jazzed it up a bit: 1. Add about 1/4 cup of sugar 2. Add 1 tsp of vanilla 3. MAKE SURE YOU USE ALL-PURPOSE FLOUR. I used self-rising once and got the same results as a previous reviewer...the cake sinks to the bottom, separates, and fries up as little, hard-to-serve balls/crumbs. It's a mess. 4. If batter is made the night before, and kept in the fridge, the flavors meld together and the funnel cake is even more tasty. Be sure to get it out an hour or so before cooking so it's not too thick...and give it a good stir. 5. I use this batter for deep-fried Twinkies, too. Just dip in your Twinky, place in the oil, and remove when golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
The recipe used too much salt. I would halve it next time. At first, I thought that it was just me, but everyone was telling me that it tasted a little salty. We tried to cover it up with tons of confectioner's sugar though. Besides that, it seemed perfect. I used a ziploc bag, I cut the hole a tad too big but found a way to make it work. Will use again...with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Delicious...I added just a little bit of vanilla extract and it was just the right touch. I don't have a funnel either, so I used a pastry bag instead. Dust it with some powder sugar and that's all you need. One of the best I have had. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The batter was rather bland for my taste. You'll need to add some vanilla and sugar for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States