Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Let me start by saying I made funnel cake for the first time last week using pancake mix and a stainless steel pan, and it was a disaster. The cake fell apart, and the batter soaked up tons of oil. It was disgusting. Yesterday I decided a second attempt at funnel cake using this recipe with a cast iron pan instead. I also used a candy thermometer to make sure the oil was exactly at 160 degrees. My first cake fell apart into little clumps once again, but the bigger clumps had the exact taste and texture as fair funnel cake. I then got the bright idea to try and make a funnel cake ring using tin foil, and the second cake was AWESOME. It held together perfectly. It was exactly like funnel cake from a fair in both look and texture. If your cake is not staying together, it is definitely not the recipe. I am not sure if it is safe to put foil in boiling oil, but if it is not, then I would go buy a proper funnel cake ring. It's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe is great! Took other's advice and added 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tbsp sugar to the batter. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Nice simple recipe...little blan, could use some sugar in batter too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
my daughter and I had made this for a midnight snack. It was awsome!! We use exact amount what the recipe says, and it turned out perfect. Used thin funnel so that the cake was crispy. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wonderful, just like the county fair. We found that adding a little vanilla to the batter makes it more appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Oh my goodness!! I cut the recipe in half, added 1 T sugar and only 1/2 t salt, beat egg and milk in a 4 cup glass measure, added sifted ingredients and a little vanilla to that, whisked with a small whisk, poured right into the hot oil and cooked as directed!! Easy to clean up and found no need for the mixer. Now, I need to lose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Excellent! I couldn't believe how easy it was to prepare these delicious funnel cakes. The kids loved them. I did add about 3 tablespoons of sugar and a half teaspoon of vanilla, as recommended by other reviewers. These little cakes tasted just like the ones at the fair! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I have used this recipe for three years. The original receipe is only a 3-4 star recipe. I've jazzed it up a bit: 1. Add about 1/4 cup of sugar 2. Add 1 tsp of vanilla 3. MAKE SURE YOU USE ALL-PURPOSE FLOUR. I used self-rising once and got the same results as a previous reviewer...the cake sinks to the bottom, separates, and fries up as little, hard-to-serve balls/crumbs. It's a mess. 4. If batter is made the night before, and kept in the fridge, the flavors meld together and the funnel cake is even more tasty. Be sure to get it out an hour or so before cooking so it's not too thick...and give it a good stir. 5. I use this batter for deep-fried Twinkies, too. Just dip in your Twinky, place in the oil, and remove when golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Looked this up on a whim one night when the kids were craving a taste of funnel cake. I added vanilla extract but otherwise left the recipe as it is listed here. Tasted delicious! My batter also went straight to the bottom so I made sure to stir the oil and drizzle the batter while it was moving. Solved the problem immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
It was good, it hit the spot =) but we did added a little bit of sugar to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States