Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
They were good, it was bit messy to make though. Be really careful with your oil make sure you don't get it to hot because then your sweet sweet delicious funnel cakes with be burnt. Which is a same. Unless you like crunchy burnt ones :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
perfect batter, not too sweet so you couldn't add all the toppings you want but sweet enough to eat by itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Photo by Aldora Kwee
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Good stuff! However, not advised for party of two. Otherwise, 1/5 the ingredients and you'll have just enough to satisfy your cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aldora Kwee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontianak, Kalimantan Barat, Indonesia
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was such an easy recipe and very good. I also used it to make deep fried twinkles. Just freeze the twinkle, oreo, candy bar etc. and put into batter before deep frying...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Let me start by saying I made funnel cake for the first time last week using pancake mix and a stainless steel pan, and it was a disaster. The cake fell apart, and the batter soaked up tons of oil. It was disgusting. Yesterday I decided a second attempt at funnel cake using this recipe with a cast iron pan instead. I also used a candy thermometer to make sure the oil was exactly at 160 degrees. My first cake fell apart into little clumps once again, but the bigger clumps had the exact taste and texture as fair funnel cake. I then got the bright idea to try and make a funnel cake ring using tin foil, and the second cake was AWESOME. It held together perfectly. It was exactly like funnel cake from a fair in both look and texture. If your cake is not staying together, it is definitely not the recipe. I am not sure if it is safe to put foil in boiling oil, but if it is not, then I would go buy a proper funnel cake ring. It's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe is great! Took other's advice and added 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tbsp sugar to the batter. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Nice simple recipe...little blan, could use some sugar in batter too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
my daughter and I had made this for a midnight snack. It was awsome!! We use exact amount what the recipe says, and it turned out perfect. Used thin funnel so that the cake was crispy. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Wonderful, just like the county fair. We found that adding a little vanilla to the batter makes it more appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Oh my goodness!! I cut the recipe in half, added 1 T sugar and only 1/2 t salt, beat egg and milk in a 4 cup glass measure, added sifted ingredients and a little vanilla to that, whisked with a small whisk, poured right into the hot oil and cooked as directed!! Easy to clean up and found no need for the mixer. Now, I need to lose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States