Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Tasted like I went to the fair to get it! And super easy! I just put sifted powdered sugar on top. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
If you are looking for a great funnel cake recipe that both tastes good and has a good texture, here it is! I did mix in some vanilla and a little sugar before frying it. Also, I didn't turn them over just once - I found that it really helps to use tongs (not a spatula) to turn it over several times so that it will all cook evenly. They're fun and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
They are so messy to clean up after, but over all it is worth it! They are amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was very easy to follow. I don't have a deep fryer, so I used a cast iron skillet. I also used a plastic keptch squeeze bottle which worked perfect. I also did not have a a thermonater, I just heated the oil, dropped a small amount of batter in until it bubbled up and floated to the top. Then went ahead and made them. I made mine the size of a saucer, much easier to handle. Great receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My whole family raved about these funnel cakes! Soft & chewy with just the right amount of crispiness on the edges. I added 1/4 cup sugar & 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter as others suggested, using an empty ketchup bottle for easy pouring. Not that these need any additional fat but for authenticity, I brushed on a bit of melted butter before sprinkling them with powdered sugar & cinnamon....better than ANY I've had at the fair! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arellys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I tried these for the very first time and took the advice of the reviews, namely adding 1/3 cup of sugar and 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract. Wow, had a funnel that wasn't as large as I was hoping but heck it did the job and I got really artistic swirling and making these amazing objects and guess what after sprinkling them with icing sugar they looked phenomenal and the boys arrived and they're all gone! So if you haven't tried these yet, now's the time to show off your culinary and artistic skills! Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Love this perfect receipe. I did add 1/3c sugar and 1tsp vanilla for my own taste preference but they were AWESOME...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious! I made these last night and me and my mom loved them. I'm actually making them again right now and I added sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I didn't have to be as meticulous in the preperation as was directed here. I didn't use a blender, I just whisked it up pretty good with a fork. The lightest, fluffiest funnel cakes ever! We sprinkled them with powdered sugar and fresh sliced strawberries. Can't beat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
FANTASTIC! Tastes just like the ones you get for $10 at the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States