Funnel Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Having lived in the Amish community I can tell you that, with the addition of a bit of nutmeg, this recipe is spot on. No need to add the vanilla & sugar (unless you REALLY like sweet stuff -- remember you're going to dust the funnel cakes with powdered sugar after they're fried).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great! Even better than the state fair. I took someone's suggestion to add a tsp of vanilla to the wet batter and a tbsp of sugar to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
These were delicious and perfect for my son's carnival themed birthday party! I added vanilla and had to tweak the flour to milk ratio a bit to get the perfect consistency because it was too thin at first and the batter kept scattering throughout the oil. But once I got it right they came out absolutely amazing and were a big hit! Also, I think it helps to let the batter sit for a while before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Loved it! Had to used about half a cup more oil but family loved it. Definitely a favorite of our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I was craving a doughnut but had no yeast so I thought...mmmm, funnel cake! The batter was too thick to go through my funnel so I used the ziploc bag tip. My first batch burned. These cook real fast! I did better with the second one which satisfied my sweet craving. It was good but I will need practice cooking them because mine didn't get as crispy as the ones at the fair. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Fun, quick, and easy for the whole family! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great recipe! Reminds me of the county fair. We added chocolate chips and/or strawberry toppings. Loving it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsanders

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
These tasted great, but they just fell apart. I think I might have needed more oil because they just hit the bottom, made a broken pancake, and browned. I had to chase the little bits around the pan to retrieve them. I'll try them again though. Maybe I'll have better luck next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great recipe, made no changes and turned out perfect. Tasted just like the funnel cakes at the amusement parks but now we can have them any time we want a special treat. Simple to put together and easy to make with ingredients on hand. Delicious, thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Great recipe, took anothers adaption and added 1/4 cup sugar and 1tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract. Gonna make these for concessions at my son's baseball games!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States