Funky Frito Fruckies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Julie Harris
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
My family loves these. Simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Got this recipe from my aunt. Her changes were a cup of milk chocolate chips for the top and a cup of peanuts added in. While the corn syrup and sugar melt I do crush the fritos some like other reviewers. I put the fritos and peanuts (chopped) in a bowl and get the peanut butter ready. I also put the oven on 300 degrees. And then either foil or parchment the pan I plan to use Once the mixture boils I turn off the heat and stir in the peanut butter. I then pour it over the fritos and peanuts. Mix well and add to the prepared pan. I sprinkle the chips over the top and then set the pan in the oven, after turning it off. Within 5 minutes or so the chips are all melted. I take the back of a spoon and spread out the chocolate across the top and then set in a cool place. It usually hardens overnight, but we don't wait that long to eat them. We start while they are still gooey. Once it hardens I flip the pan onto a cutting board and chop it up into small squares. Always a hit! Remember, how long you let the mixture boil will determine how gooey or hard your pieces will be. In addition, don't skimp on cheap chocolate and peanut butter, it can also make or break the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These were good. I may add more Fritos next time so it has more of the salty flavor. I felt that there was maybe to much of the peanut butter syrup. But that is just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
incredibly delicious blend of flavors! I made it as written the first time, loved it - then followed a suggestion about adding 1/4 C more corn syrup & peanut butter each, and I also melted the peanut butter in the microwave, to make stirring-in faster - and it seems like these changes made it easier to work with. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Yes, they are odd. And yes, people will wonder what is in them, but they are so good. The perfect mixture of sweet and salty. I use the regular Fritos not Scoops, and I crush them a little. Mixed slightly to coat. Honestly, I am too cheap to buy that many chocolate bars, so I always melt chocolate chips and drizzle over the top. They look prettier that way. I first saw this recipe years ago in a Taste of Home I think. Not sure if it is exactly the same, but this recipe is GREAT! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These are so easy and so good! I had the same recipe but mine called to drop some peanuts on top rather than the chocolate. Just like a salted nut roll. Don't get the sugar/corn syrup too hot or they get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by digger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
everybody loved them will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We had a cookout at work and one of the supervisors brought in a giant box of 1-ounce bags of chips. Nobody wanted the Fritos, so I took all of them home with this recipe in mind. I only had eight 1-ounce bags, so I was a little short on the required amount, but I went ahead with the recipe as written otherwise, using a 9 x 13 inch pan. As some other reviewers mentioned doing, I crushed the Fritos slightly before putting them into the pan. The salty and sweet flavors of this dessert go really well together and the peanut butter in the sugar/corn syrup mixture keeps it from being so sweet your fillings hurt. I did feel that the 2-1/2 ounces of Fritos I was short on were really needed, because the peanut butter layer was a bit thick compared to the amount of Fritos, so next time I'll be sure to have the full amount the recipe calls for. I didn't use chocolate bars, because 11 of them would have cost me almost $10! Instead, I used a 12-ounce bag of chocolate chips. We all agreed that the semi-sweet chocolate chips were perfect and that milk chocolate would have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
we made these like nachos, not bars. So, I made half the topping with a whole bag of Frito scoops. Instead of dealing with messy chocolate, we used M&M's. Very quick and easy. I didn't pay attention to directions and added the peanut butter to the sugar and corn syrup in the beginning, still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States