Funky Frito Fruckies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These were good. I may add more Fritos next time so it has more of the salty flavor. I felt that there was maybe to much of the peanut butter syrup. But that is just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
incredibly delicious blend of flavors! I made it as written the first time, loved it - then followed a suggestion about adding 1/4 C more corn syrup & peanut butter each, and I also melted the peanut butter in the microwave, to make stirring-in faster - and it seems like these changes made it easier to work with. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Yes, they are odd. And yes, people will wonder what is in them, but they are so good. The perfect mixture of sweet and salty. I use the regular Fritos not Scoops, and I crush them a little. Mixed slightly to coat. Honestly, I am too cheap to buy that many chocolate bars, so I always melt chocolate chips and drizzle over the top. They look prettier that way. I first saw this recipe years ago in a Taste of Home I think. Not sure if it is exactly the same, but this recipe is GREAT! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These are so easy and so good! I had the same recipe but mine called to drop some peanuts on top rather than the chocolate. Just like a salted nut roll. Don't get the sugar/corn syrup too hot or they get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by digger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
everybody loved them will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
We had a cookout at work and one of the supervisors brought in a giant box of 1-ounce bags of chips. Nobody wanted the Fritos, so I took all of them home with this recipe in mind. I only had eight 1-ounce bags, so I was a little short on the required amount, but I went ahead with the recipe as written otherwise, using a 9 x 13 inch pan. As some other reviewers mentioned doing, I crushed the Fritos slightly before putting them into the pan. The salty and sweet flavors of this dessert go really well together and the peanut butter in the sugar/corn syrup mixture keeps it from being so sweet your fillings hurt. I did feel that the 2-1/2 ounces of Fritos I was short on were really needed, because the peanut butter layer was a bit thick compared to the amount of Fritos, so next time I'll be sure to have the full amount the recipe calls for. I didn't use chocolate bars, because 11 of them would have cost me almost $10! Instead, I used a 12-ounce bag of chocolate chips. We all agreed that the semi-sweet chocolate chips were perfect and that milk chocolate would have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
we made these like nachos, not bars. So, I made half the topping with a whole bag of Frito scoops. Instead of dealing with messy chocolate, we used M&M's. Very quick and easy. I didn't pay attention to directions and added the peanut butter to the sugar and corn syrup in the beginning, still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
LOVE THESE! Made today for a birthday treat for a friend. I made some on the Scoop Fritos and some in the bar version. Included a picture of both. I varied the frosting by using melted peanut butter / milk chocolate chips. Drizzled on the Scoops and spread on the bars. Sweet & Salty - great combination! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These were good, but not sure they're a do-over. Don't put them in the refrigerator, you'll lose a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States