Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MomWhoCooks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I tried this recipe today because it sounded good and I had all the ingredients in my pantry. It tasted fine, I would make it again if I were in need of a quick meal, but I just found it okay. I wouldn't go out of my way and plan on making it. I found that it didn't come together at all, when you put it on your plate it just falls apart, it's just a bunch of cubed chicken and beans, there is really no need to put it in the oven, you could skip the tortillas (they're awkward as a crust anyways) melt the cheese on top of the stove and then maybe wrap it all in flour tortillas. That would be better I think. I would not make it to drop off at someone's house, it's just not that good; but it is an okay quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
this recipe was really yummy. I did add a few things to it like black olives, I also put enchilada sauce on bottom of cake pan so shells wouldn't stick. And on tortilla shells spread refried beans on them put chicken mixture in and topped with a little more enchilada sauce. cilantro and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this recipe last week and I thought it was absolutely great. I actually passed it on to my mexican friend who loves enchiladas but has a 2 year old and no time for prep these days. It was so easy and it tasted fabulous, just like an enchilada, minus the time investment. I love the idea below of substituting the tortillas for chips, that would make it perfecto! It is definitely not a meal that you want to make if you're looking for something that looks pretty. I did it in a casserole dish, cut it in to squares w/a pizza cutter and served. It did fall apart, but I wasn't looking to impress with presentation, so that was okay. I stored the rest for lunch all week and everyone at work kept asking what smelled so good. The other thing that I love is that it is packed with nutrient dense ingredients that have lots of fiber, whole products and protein. It's a perfect and healthy (if you go light on the cheese) family meal. I give it an a+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I LOVED this recipe. I'm new to cooking, so when I say this was easy to make. I mean it. The best thing for this recipe is to make sure you have all of your ingredients chopped up and ready to cook. Otherwise you might burn the meat if you’re off chopping more veggies. I also substituted the chicken with ground beef. And it was still great. One of the things I might changed about this is instead of having full corn tortilla on the bottom of the pan, I would make it have chips. Just because when I cooked it, it was hard to cut, as well eat. My family just ended up scraping off the tortilla and just using chips instead. Something to think about before you cook it. The taste was GREAT. And I’m a picky eater so to say that, it really means something. Try it! You’ll never want to lose this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
i put chips on the bottom as suggested and next time would probably layer them throughout because this is just like nachos. delicious. instead of a taco seasoning packet i used cumin, paprika, chili powder and garlic salt. i'll add more cayenne next time. this is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I really liked this casserole! I made only one change to the original recipe - after reading the reviews, I decided to use the crunchy tostada shells (like a flat crispy taco shell), broken into 2 or 3 pieces and laid on the bottom of the pan instead of regular corn tortillas. This came out to a nice crumbly corn crust for the casserole, and I can see how regular corn tortillas could probably be mushier and harder to cut if used. i will definitely use the tostadas again the next time b/c i really liked the flavor it added. Otherwise I thought this was a great recipe as is. I served it with a dollop of sour cream, salsa, and some diced avocados on top, and spanish rice as a side. Easy, great thing to have in the frig for leftovers, something to leave for the babysitter, etc. I made it for a friend who just had a baby and they really liked it, too, it's a comfort food type of dish. I also like that is uses mostly whole ingredients, not a bunch of processed stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
So YUM! I used ground turkey, made my own taco seasoning (less sodium) reduced the cumin and skipped the cilantro. I layered this like a lasagna using enchilada sauce on the bottom and between the layers. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch today! Thank you Anne!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is good to use with pantry/on hand ingredients. I used only one can of organic black beans and omitted the kidney beans. I used my own homemade taco seasoning. I also used a corn-flour tortilla blend. This was super easy to throw together though it wasn't a huge hit, which was a surprize. It was quite dry. I think had I been thinking, I'd have added in some homemade enchilada sauce. This would make a good nacho topping. Just when it's baked, it's just....dry. I made my own casa (mexican sour cream) dressing over the top which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was really good. The kids had a hard time with the pepperjack cheese but we loved it! I used just Black Beans because we do not like kidneys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
My picky husband hates corn tortillas and he ate this twice. We don't eat black beans but I did add the refried beans like someone else had said. I didn't have the cheese they asked for but my family prefer cheddar cheese. It was soo good. Next time I will probably add some green chilies for some heat. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States