Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MomWhoCooks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I tried this recipe today because it sounded good and I had all the ingredients in my pantry. It tasted fine, I would make it again if I were in need of a quick meal, but I just found it okay. I wouldn't go out of my way and plan on making it. I found that it didn't come together at all, when you put it on your plate it just falls apart, it's just a bunch of cubed chicken and beans, there is really no need to put it in the oven, you could skip the tortillas (they're awkward as a crust anyways) melt the cheese on top of the stove and then maybe wrap it all in flour tortillas. That would be better I think. I would not make it to drop off at someone's house, it's just not that good; but it is an okay quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Great recipe. I left out the corn, and added some cooked white rice instead. I used some cumin and black bean sauce as well. Very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was very easy to make and came out great! My friends loved it and I had a nice amount of leftovers for work. I also tried it with sour cream on the side and that was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. I added green Chili Sauce to spice it up and it was even better. Yum. My kids didn't like it though. They are pretty picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I LOVED this recipe. I'm new to cooking, so when I say this was easy to make. I mean it. The best thing for this recipe is to make sure you have all of your ingredients chopped up and ready to cook. Otherwise you might burn the meat if you’re off chopping more veggies. I also substituted the chicken with ground beef. And it was still great. One of the things I might changed about this is instead of having full corn tortilla on the bottom of the pan, I would make it have chips. Just because when I cooked it, it was hard to cut, as well eat. My family just ended up scraping off the tortilla and just using chips instead. Something to think about before you cook it. The taste was GREAT. And I’m a picky eater so to say that, it really means something. Try it! You’ll never want to lose this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
this recipe was really yummy. I did add a few things to it like black olives, I also put enchilada sauce on bottom of cake pan so shells wouldn't stick. And on tortilla shells spread refried beans on them put chicken mixture in and topped with a little more enchilada sauce. cilantro and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this recipe last week and I thought it was absolutely great. I actually passed it on to my mexican friend who loves enchiladas but has a 2 year old and no time for prep these days. It was so easy and it tasted fabulous, just like an enchilada, minus the time investment. I love the idea below of substituting the tortillas for chips, that would make it perfecto! It is definitely not a meal that you want to make if you're looking for something that looks pretty. I did it in a casserole dish, cut it in to squares w/a pizza cutter and served. It did fall apart, but I wasn't looking to impress with presentation, so that was okay. I stored the rest for lunch all week and everyone at work kept asking what smelled so good. The other thing that I love is that it is packed with nutrient dense ingredients that have lots of fiber, whole products and protein. It's a perfect and healthy (if you go light on the cheese) family meal. I give it an a+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I made this recipe with my kids but didn't have tortillas so we used tortilla chips instead. Turned out fantastic. I served with a side bowl of olive oil vinagrette that had diced tomatoes, green onions and a little cilantro in it. My kids loved it so much that the next day they begged me to make it again! Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clyde, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Onoway, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was really good. The kids had a hard time with the pepperjack cheese but we loved it! I used just Black Beans because we do not like kidneys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This recipe is AWESOME! My 7 year old had 2 servings and has been asking for it every night!I was looking for an Enchilada recipe when I found it. It is SO quick and simple. I left out the peppers and put in a bunch of olives. I have made it twice now in about a week and a half! I chop up onion, cilantro, tomato, and have lime slices to squeeze on top. Salsa,and sourcream for the sauce lovers! I will keep this recipe FOREVER! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States