Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I think it could use a bot more spice but otherwise it was really good. Don't use corn tortillas. Use tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My husband loved this and I thought it was pretty good. A little dry as-is, but good once I mixed a bit of sour cream into mine. The corn tortillas were slightly tough and chewy - think I might modify that part of the recipe next time. I also added extra taco seasoning, cayenne and a little garlic salt to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vincini

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I love this recipe, as does all of my family and friends! After making this a few times, I have added some things. I grate one large onion into the Chicken which adds some juiciness to the mixture! Along with the Cumin and pinch of Cayenne pepper, I use my own mix of spices' instead of a Taco seasoning-Chili Powder,Paprika,Garlic Powder,and,Salt to taste. The last time I made this, I didn't add the corn but, put in one large fresh tomato. I used 6 Whole Wheat Tortillas and just cut them to fit the bottom of my casserole dish. The Whole Wheat ones add a nice texture to the dish-- they become softer than the flour or corn tortillas.After baking, I added a ton of fresh Cilantro and, it was fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I made this for my son and his girlfriend and the whole family loved it, has a wonderful flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was okay, not great enough to make again. It needed more flavor - I definitely should have used more cumin (I ran out a little short of a tablespoon). I also didn't use pepperjack so it wouldn't be too spicy for the kids, maybe that would have added enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I really liked this casserole! I made only one change to the original recipe - after reading the reviews, I decided to use the crunchy tostada shells (like a flat crispy taco shell), broken into 2 or 3 pieces and laid on the bottom of the pan instead of regular corn tortillas. This came out to a nice crumbly corn crust for the casserole, and I can see how regular corn tortillas could probably be mushier and harder to cut if used. i will definitely use the tostadas again the next time b/c i really liked the flavor it added. Otherwise I thought this was a great recipe as is. I served it with a dollop of sour cream, salsa, and some diced avocados on top, and spanish rice as a side. Easy, great thing to have in the frig for leftovers, something to leave for the babysitter, etc. I made it for a friend who just had a baby and they really liked it, too, it's a comfort food type of dish. I also like that is uses mostly whole ingredients, not a bunch of processed stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
i put chips on the bottom as suggested and next time would probably layer them throughout because this is just like nachos. delicious. instead of a taco seasoning packet i used cumin, paprika, chili powder and garlic salt. i'll add more cayenne next time. this is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I left out the corn shells on the bottom like other reviews suggested and I used deer hamburger instead of the chicken. It turned out really well. Anytime I can find a recipe that works well with deer I am sold. I also served it with corn chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good, easy and kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKOURINOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Gee, I thought this would be great but, I just didn't like it. I made it exactly as written except for leaving out the cayenne and reducing the cumin to 1 teaspoon. Sorry...I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States