Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I think it could use a bot more spice but otherwise it was really good. Don't use corn tortillas. Use tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My husband loved this and I thought it was pretty good. A little dry as-is, but good once I mixed a bit of sour cream into mine. The corn tortillas were slightly tough and chewy - think I might modify that part of the recipe next time. I also added extra taco seasoning, cayenne and a little garlic salt to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vincini

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I love this recipe, as does all of my family and friends! After making this a few times, I have added some things. I grate one large onion into the Chicken which adds some juiciness to the mixture! Along with the Cumin and pinch of Cayenne pepper, I use my own mix of spices' instead of a Taco seasoning-Chili Powder,Paprika,Garlic Powder,and,Salt to taste. The last time I made this, I didn't add the corn but, put in one large fresh tomato. I used 6 Whole Wheat Tortillas and just cut them to fit the bottom of my casserole dish. The Whole Wheat ones add a nice texture to the dish-- they become softer than the flour or corn tortillas.After baking, I added a ton of fresh Cilantro and, it was fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I made this for my son and his girlfriend and the whole family loved it, has a wonderful flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This was okay, not great enough to make again. It needed more flavor - I definitely should have used more cumin (I ran out a little short of a tablespoon). I also didn't use pepperjack so it wouldn't be too spicy for the kids, maybe that would have added enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I really liked this casserole! I made only one change to the original recipe - after reading the reviews, I decided to use the crunchy tostada shells (like a flat crispy taco shell), broken into 2 or 3 pieces and laid on the bottom of the pan instead of regular corn tortillas. This came out to a nice crumbly corn crust for the casserole, and I can see how regular corn tortillas could probably be mushier and harder to cut if used. i will definitely use the tostadas again the next time b/c i really liked the flavor it added. Otherwise I thought this was a great recipe as is. I served it with a dollop of sour cream, salsa, and some diced avocados on top, and spanish rice as a side. Easy, great thing to have in the frig for leftovers, something to leave for the babysitter, etc. I made it for a friend who just had a baby and they really liked it, too, it's a comfort food type of dish. I also like that is uses mostly whole ingredients, not a bunch of processed stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
i put chips on the bottom as suggested and next time would probably layer them throughout because this is just like nachos. delicious. instead of a taco seasoning packet i used cumin, paprika, chili powder and garlic salt. i'll add more cayenne next time. this is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I left out the corn shells on the bottom like other reviews suggested and I used deer hamburger instead of the chicken. It turned out really well. Anytime I can find a recipe that works well with deer I am sold. I also served it with corn chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good, easy and kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKOURINOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Gee, I thought this would be great but, I just didn't like it. I made it exactly as written except for leaving out the cayenne and reducing the cumin to 1 teaspoon. Sorry...I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States