Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
As I had already shopped and bought the corn tortillas, I cut them up and baked them to make "tortilla chips" and lined the bottom with that. It worked! I also sliced the garlic to get more flavor, and added a couple of sliced mushrooms that happened to be in my fridge and needed to be used. The kids loved it, I thought it was good (even better leftover for lunch the next day). Hubby didn't like it though. :( He's hard to please anyway....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This recipe was good...BUT! Most of the reviewers who said it was dry were right. I modified it by dredging my corn tortillas in hot oil...just in & out...just long enough for them to soften up a little.Of course, you have to pat most of the oil out before lining your pan. I then put a little enchilada sauce over them before putting in some refried bean and the rest of the ingredients. Turned out yummy and not at all dry! Served with Guacamole Salad & Cucumbers on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: La Marque, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was something of a departure from most of the cooking that I do as it contains a lot of beans. Despite looking heavy on beans the dish actually balances out quite well. This is one meat and potatoes guy that was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbakerwitt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
was very good some said it was dry in the reviews so i added a cup of chicken broth:) and cheese was mixed thru to help hold together..and topped.. i love cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I omitted a few ingredients, and it was STILL amazing! Because it was a side dish to be eaten with grilled chicken and burgers, I omitted the Chicken. Because I am on a low glycemic diet, I omitted the carbs (corn and tortillas) . The pepper jack cheese really pulled the tastes together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wvsharonanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Quick,easy and very good. I put salsa on bottom and topped with tortilla chips. I used 1 package of taco seasoning mix with the other spices. I was very surprised that my 22 year old loved it. He said liked all the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I took one of the other reviewers advice and skipped the oven and corn tortillas. I halfed the recipe and made it in the frying pan but skipped the oil and used cooking spray. Then I spooned the hot mixture into mini pita pockets and sprinkled with a little shredded cheddar chees and served with FFsour cream for dipping. This was a very delicious lunch and I have plenty of leftovers for supper or tomorrow evening. I also love thay this dish is full of great stuff like beans and veggies. I will make this again without a doubt but I don't think I will try it according to the recipe. As always thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is absolutely a new favorite for my husband and me. I have shared it with several friends, and they and their spouses all love it as well. My hubby and I decided to drizzle some green (jalapeno) salsa over our serving portions, and it added an entire new dimension to the flavor. Yum! We also served sour cream, guacamole, and red salsa alongside. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This recipe tastes good, but there's nothing to bind it together. It's not exactly dry, but it's missing something. It called for a lot of garlic, which was okay for us, but might be a lot for some. I upped the spices and made sure my chicken was seasoned, but still felt it was lacking something to hold it together. I wondered it refried beans would work better, but I think there would also need to be cheese mixed into the recipe. Maybe hot sauce too - too much overhauling to try again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Tastes good, doesn't 'hold together' like I expect a casserole to do. We enjoyed it with a little splash of Frank's Lime Hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States