Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I did not use Chicken I used Ground Turkey. I also between each layer of tortillas I used Verde sauce. I recommend Pace Salsa Verde sauce. I also added Green Chiles to the meat mixture...This turned out to be a wonderful dish with my alterations...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tajettet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Yes, funky indeed, as I didn't see much resemblance to actual enchiladas, (other than the flavors being of the Mexican-variety), but wow, did we woof this meal down! I would recommend not bothering w/ baking it at all and simply sprinkling your own toppings on it right out of the skillet. As most reviewers said, it doesn't really have a casserole appearance when scooped out of the pan, so it just seemed like a waste of energy and heat to run the oven at all. Other (small) adjustments -- I went heavy on the "Taco Seasoning I" recipe, used green and yellow peppers, used an 11 oz. can Mexi-corn, and only 2 cans beans. (Black & Red.) The end result, while sloppy to serve (don't forget the cilantro, sour cream, diced tomatoes and green onions!) is so vivid and colorful! I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow wrapped in a warm tortilla or spooned over basmatic rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was good! I followed the suggestions I read to use chips instead of corn tortillas. I also added diced jalapenos since we like spicier food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I have made this dish a number of times, and has become a family favorite. I did take others' advise, and poured a small can of enchilada sauce in the bottom of the pan. I add about 1/2 package of taco seasoning to my chicken breasts as they cook. I follow the rest of the recipe pretty much as stated. Sometimes, I add olives or green chiles, depending on what my pantry has. But overall, this casserole taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby2cute

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very good! Made with white kidney beans and canned chicken. Put blue corn chips on the bottom of the pan instead and poured some enchilada sauce on the chips and then other other half of the 10 oz can of echilada sauce in the mix. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Was good but needed some enchilada or salsa. I added salsa to mine to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Kilauea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this during the week and found that it was a little more time consuming than anticipated but it may have been that it was my first attempt at making the dish which is generally how it is. I made the dish as written and took the advise of another reviewer and omitted the corn tortillas from the dish and served with fresh made corn chips. This was absolutely a meal made fun as titled. The flavors were even more pronounced the next day. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinconning, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
THIS WAS AMAZING! It made a lot which is good because I had some surprise visitors. After reading reviews I did leave out the tortillas and lined the bottom with chips I also put chips on everyones plates for scooping. I only used a red and yellow bell pepper which was plenty I think 3 of them would have been 2 much. I also used poultry seasoning on the chicken along with the Cumin for some extra flavor. Also I added a lot more cheese I was leary about Pepperjack but it really tied the meal together. Thank you for this recipe I will continue to use it especially for potlucks as more of a dip with shredded chicken instead of cubed. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edubird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
LOVED this recipe!!! I actually added one can of enchilada sauce (1/2 in the mix and 1/2 on top) and more cheese on top.....SO SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was delicious! I left out the tortillas & spooned it on to tostadas AFTER it was done baking. Topped off with sour cream, fresh diced tomatoes, shredded lettuce & hot sauce. Also goes great with spanish rice, mixed in or as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States