Funky Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I LOVED this recipe. I'm new to cooking, so when I say this was easy to make. I mean it. The best thing for this recipe is to make sure you have all of your ingredients chopped up and ready to cook. Otherwise you might burn the meat if you’re off chopping more veggies. I also substituted the chicken with ground beef. And it was still great. One of the things I might changed about this is instead of having full corn tortilla on the bottom of the pan, I would make it have chips. Just because when I cooked it, it was hard to cut, as well eat. My family just ended up scraping off the tortilla and just using chips instead. Something to think about before you cook it. The taste was GREAT. And I’m a picky eater so to say that, it really means something. Try it! You’ll never want to lose this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was very easy to make and came out great! My friends loved it and I had a nice amount of leftovers for work. I also tried it with sour cream on the side and that was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
i put chips on the bottom as suggested and next time would probably layer them throughout because this is just like nachos. delicious. instead of a taco seasoning packet i used cumin, paprika, chili powder and garlic salt. i'll add more cayenne next time. this is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
this recipe was really yummy. I did add a few things to it like black olives, I also put enchilada sauce on bottom of cake pan so shells wouldn't stick. And on tortilla shells spread refried beans on them put chicken mixture in and topped with a little more enchilada sauce. cilantro and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made this recipe last week and I thought it was absolutely great. I actually passed it on to my mexican friend who loves enchiladas but has a 2 year old and no time for prep these days. It was so easy and it tasted fabulous, just like an enchilada, minus the time investment. I love the idea below of substituting the tortillas for chips, that would make it perfecto! It is definitely not a meal that you want to make if you're looking for something that looks pretty. I did it in a casserole dish, cut it in to squares w/a pizza cutter and served. It did fall apart, but I wasn't looking to impress with presentation, so that was okay. I stored the rest for lunch all week and everyone at work kept asking what smelled so good. The other thing that I love is that it is packed with nutrient dense ingredients that have lots of fiber, whole products and protein. It's a perfect and healthy (if you go light on the cheese) family meal. I give it an a+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I made this recipe with my kids but didn't have tortillas so we used tortilla chips instead. Turned out fantastic. I served with a side bowl of olive oil vinagrette that had diced tomatoes, green onions and a little cilantro in it. My kids loved it so much that the next day they begged me to make it again! Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clyde, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Onoway, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good, easy and kid friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKOURINOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I left out the corn shells on the bottom like other reviews suggested and I used deer hamburger instead of the chicken. It turned out really well. Anytime I can find a recipe that works well with deer I am sold. I also served it with corn chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I made this for my son and his girlfriend and the whole family loved it, has a wonderful flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I love this recipe, as does all of my family and friends! After making this a few times, I have added some things. I grate one large onion into the Chicken which adds some juiciness to the mixture! Along with the Cumin and pinch of Cayenne pepper, I use my own mix of spices' instead of a Taco seasoning-Chili Powder,Paprika,Garlic Powder,and,Salt to taste. The last time I made this, I didn't add the corn but, put in one large fresh tomato. I used 6 Whole Wheat Tortillas and just cut them to fit the bottom of my casserole dish. The Whole Wheat ones add a nice texture to the dish-- they become softer than the flour or corn tortillas.After baking, I added a ton of fresh Cilantro and, it was fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States