Funeral Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
dont use fresh potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Best cheesy potato recipe! I know them as church potluck potatoes because someone always brings something similar but this is by far the best recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Funeral Potatoes, or as we call them, Happy Potatoes because they are so creamy and delicious, should not be made with hash browns. They don't hold up in the oven and turn to mush. You should use diced potatoes or frozen diced potatoes. Condensed cream of chicken, or mushroom soup, cheddar or peperjack cheese, (not cheese product)!, and can be changed up to fit any familys taste, ie: bacon, green onion, asparagus, ham. This is a wonderfuly filling dish and is always a hit at partys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Only 4 stars b/c I didn't follow it exactly. I took the advice of others and cut the sauce back. I just used one can of cream of chicken instead of the other 2 soups. Also, half the butter and a little less water. After that, it turned it really good. I didn't feel it was too soupy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
i make mine the same as another reviewer makes them--delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
My family has been making a version of this dish for years and years, it was a neighborhood staple and IS called funeral potatoes bcs it is served after funerals to the family. The way we make it though: Use shredded cheese, not cheese sauce No butter No water These changes will make the dish not soupy. Every person in the neighborhood had their own style to making it; add bacon or ham chunks, green onions, a "flake" type cereal for a crusty top, or a touch of cayenne pepper will give it a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Really didn't care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I had never heard of funeral potatoes until my husband requested them. Thank goodness this recipe was here. It is now a staple in our family and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Oddly, our family also calls this dish "Funeral Potatoes" and that's the title I used to search for this. As others have mentioned, I too use the cubed hash browns (or the O'Brien kind); I use shredded cheese (of the cheddar variety) and one can of soup - cream of chicken. I also use corn flakes instead of bread crumbs. Also, I add about 1/2 of an onion, diced. Awesome! A great compliment to ham. I always make this for Easter. Good for potlucks too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States