Funeral Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I'd compare this recipe to apple pie but take out the apples & substitute for raisins. I made this for friends/family & the verdict was across the board ... not good! Even my husband, who eats practically anything, took one bite & was done. :o( I had high hopes! I think people couldn't get past the texture. ?? Goood luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
it was okay... too sweet, next time will add less sugar! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
i've made this several times, always using two ready-made pie crusts, otherwise exact to the recipe. It is AWESOME! so yummy, very comfort food, I make it for thanksgiving and its always gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
"Funeral pie" is a recipe that mainstream American cookbooks have featured for years (I have several 1930s cookbooks that feature it). Its reputation as a pie for mourners is well-established, but as for its Amish origin, I've never heard such a claim made. Even if this recipe can't be appreciated as Amish, it's an old American classic -- and I think everyone can appreciate THAT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
A lot of yummy, wonderful, sugary calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I substituted dried fruit medaly (Australian) with dried apple apricot peaches sultanas etc. Definately a keeper. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
The pie didn't 'gel' even with extra corn flour and the flavour was a bit iffy. This is not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This was very good. Made for my mother who loves raisins. I don't care for them in quite such abundance (don't care for mincemeat, either). I made this twice. Once as-is (I think every recipe deserves that), and once modifying it so that it appealed to other family members who wanted something less "mince meat like." I stirred in 1/2 cup of pecans in place of 1/2 cup of raisins, and, I stirred in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The end result was something like a "Chunky Raisin Pecan Candy Bar." The menfolk much preferred this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was delicious, like a sweeter, subtler version of mincemeat pie. Everyone in the family liked it, but we did change the name to "Amish Raisin Pie" because "Funeral Pie" was a little morbid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
i havent gotten to taste this pie yet because i made it for me and my boyfriend, and i dont see him for another day. but i baked it this evening and it looks and smells wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States