Fun Cookie Suckers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Excellent Excellent Excellent! I made this for my daugher's class for her birthday and then turned around and made it for my sons class for his birthday the following week. Very easy and so cute! The second batch I made was for a preschool class so I added a broken pretzel rod in place of the popsicle sticks. (easier for them to hold plus it made the whole thing edible) So glad I found this recipe! It sure made my life easier with 2 birthdays back to back. It quickly went into my favorite recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
These look really cool, but the work is not really worth it for me. I thought by reading the recipe it would not be that hard, but very time consuming....not meant for large quantities. These will expand a great deal during cooking, so don't place to close together on cookie sheet. Tasted good, but a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I have made these 3 years running for my sons birthday treat to take to his class. He always requests them. Because they are time consuming i find it helpful to shape all the balls of each color after the dough has chilled then put them back in the fridge. I have even done this a day ahead and baked the next day. It helps to use parchment paper with the cream cheese based dough. Also the thicker sucker sticks (wilton makes some specifically for cookie suckers) work better. If you make these be prepared to share the recipe and be ready for the kids to request them over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Excellent recipe! I used an 8 oz. package of cream cheese and modified the amount of the rest of the ingredients to make the dough. Turned out great. Used regular food coloring (didn't have any paste), and we (my kids and my nephews) made cookies for Mother's Day. Lots of fun, kids can get really creative w/ this dough. We didn't use sticks, just rolled into dime size balls, or multi colored ropes, and made designs. Will make again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made these cookies for my son to pass out to his teachers and bus driver along with thank you notes for his last day of kindergarten. They are so colorful and cute and a great tasting cookie also. I'm glad I did not read any reviews except the ones on the recipe page, because if I had, I probably would have added extra sugar, as other reviewers did. I don't think these need any more sugar. They are sweet enough, and buttery... yum. The only change I made to the recipe was a neccessary improvisation. I began making the dough before I realized we had used the last of the cream cheese (which I almost always have), so I subbed 1/4 C or so of sour cream and the texture of the cookie is wonderful! I will definitely make these again! (The kids haven't even seen these yet... they are in bed for the night... they're going to love them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
5 stars for the concept alone. I wish I read prior reviews of adding a tad more sugar. Cookie itself tasted kinda bland-but not bad. Maybe a 1/4 cup more sugar or even conf sugar. Other than that it was fun and I think to make them look the prettiest its safe to roll the colors individually and gently attach them. They get more tie-dye looking by adding all colors into one ball and rolling out. Check out the pictures posted and you can tell the difference. Will keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
What a fun thing to make! I purchased wilton lollipop sticks, and had my five year old paint a terracotta pot. We inserted floral foam, stuck in the pops that we had wrapped in cellophane and tied with ribbons. Then we covered the floral foam with gum drops. My son calls it the 'CandyLand Suprise!" It was time consuming and made a huge mess of my kitchen, but it was worth it!!! Yummy Too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
What a fun project with the kids on an unexpected snow day. It took a cookie or so to get the technique down (we were making the "snake" too thin) but even the mistakes have their own character. I added the additional 1/3 cup of sugar as others had suggested and we didn't have a problem with bland cookies. They are sugar cookies though, not super sweet like choco chip, etc. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This cookie was fun to make and the kids loved it but I thought it needed more flavor. It does taste good it just doesn't pop like I like in a cookie. I am sure I will use this again since the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
My kids and I had lots of fun making these cookies. We ended up making two batches and passing some out as Easter treats to friends & family. To make them more Easter-like we used pastel colors, and wrapped the cookies up in cute Easter gift bags with ribbons. I followed the advise of others and added about 1/4 C more sugar so that they were sweet enough, and cooked the cookies for almost 12 minutes long so that they were not too soft. I also added lemon extract instead of vanilla, because I like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States