Fun Cookie Suckers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
hmm... soft cheese in a cookie? I just had to try it coz the pic looked so bright and colourful. I had to use liquid dyes instead of paste, and I didn't get many cookies, I made them too big... they came out like saucers lol much to my daughters delight :) I didn't add extra sugar into the mix, however I did roll them out in icing sugar to stop them from sticking to the counter. Overall, they were fun to make and the taste... yummy! This recipe is definatley a keeper, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
What a fun project with the kids on an unexpected snow day. It took a cookie or so to get the technique down (we were making the "snake" too thin) but even the mistakes have their own character. I added the additional 1/3 cup of sugar as others had suggested and we didn't have a problem with bland cookies. They are sugar cookies though, not super sweet like choco chip, etc. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
5 stars for the concept alone. I wish I read prior reviews of adding a tad more sugar. Cookie itself tasted kinda bland-but not bad. Maybe a 1/4 cup more sugar or even conf sugar. Other than that it was fun and I think to make them look the prettiest its safe to roll the colors individually and gently attach them. They get more tie-dye looking by adding all colors into one ball and rolling out. Check out the pictures posted and you can tell the difference. Will keep in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I was expecting the playdough type cookies that you find in groceries, but these were not that cookie. I added almond extract and 1/4 c additional sugar, and they still came out rather plain and unexciting. I put a raspberry glaze on them and they were much better, but I don't think I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I got 4 dozen out of this recipe. I inserted the lollipop sticks to only 2 dozen and left them out for the rest. I increased the sugar by 1/2 Cup and I think thats a good amount. I found I had to leave the dough in the fridge and do a few at a time because it softened quickly which made it impossible for me to roll, snake and coil. I have to agree that this recipe is very time consuming but it is worth it especially on special occasions. A huge hit with my daughter and I thought they tasted and looked pretty good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The kids had a blast making them. They were not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was fun!!! my daughter made these for a trade fair for school and it went great!!! I did ad the extra sugar and sprinkled some on top before I baked them. The kids had fun making them and in all kinds of ways..thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKIESW23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
These look really cool, but the work is not really worth it for me. I thought by reading the recipe it would not be that hard, but very time consuming....not meant for large quantities. These will expand a great deal during cooking, so don't place to close together on cookie sheet. Tasted good, but a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very bland. Wonder if I could use my favorite sugar cookie recipe because the idea is great but my kids only ate a little even though they LOVED making them and LOVED the idea. Sorry but this is tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These look really cool, but the work is not really worth it for me. I thought by reading the recipe it would not be that hard, but very time consuming....not meant for large quantities. I added the extra sugar as well, and I think it would have been easier if I had not chilled the dough. This only made the dough crack whereas when I first mixed the dough it was pliable like playdough. The recipe also fails to mention that these will expand a great deal during cooking, so don't place to close together on cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States