Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was excellent! I added extra 2 tsp. cornstarch and 1/2 c. milk to make enough to fill pie. Another reviewer said it was very thick. So by using just a bit more cornstarch and extra milk it was perfect and cut really neat slices. Cornstarch is unique in the way that when you bring to a hard boil; than boil for 1 min longer the filling is perfect. If you overcook it, it will go back to thin!!!I made this for my coffee group and they gave it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I made the pie according to the directions, but did also increase the corn starch by 2 tsp. and the milk by 1/2 cup, as several cooks suggested. The quantity that resulted was the perfect amount for a 9" pie shell. The directions do not mention how long to stir, and for those of you who will make this pie in the future, you will be stirring constantly for at least 15 to 19 minutes, before the filling gets thick. It is important to stir constantly as the filling could burn. The flavor was a delicious chocolate flavor, and I topped the pie with whipped cream and chocolate shavings. I hope you all will try this pie; you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I had not made a chocolate pie for years. I do make instant chocolate pudding once in a while, but forget the instant stuff now!! This recipe was smooth, firm and very choclate-y! It thickens up quickly. Keep stirring and watch the heat! I think I'll mix up the dry ingredients, sugar, corn starch, flour, salt . . . to make it even quicker next time. Measure the cornstarch and flour carefully because you wouldn't want it any thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I made this pie several years ago and my guests have requested again this Christmas! It is rich and chocolaty. One reviewer said it didn't set, that's because she didn't cook it enough (a full boil is a boil that doesn't stop when stirred). Thanks for this great recipe. This is the only choc. cream pie recipe I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stonehill26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Wow, this was amazing. My husband loves chocolate cream pie and the only kind I have ever made is the pudding-in-the-box kind. He said this was the best chocolate pie he has ever had. It turned out super rich and chocolatey and set up perfectly! I followed the recipe exactly and the results were wonderful. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is my one and only Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe. Family and friends rave about this and describe it as "chocolate decadence". I double the ingredients to make a really thick, full pie. Make sure you boil for 1-2 minutes after boiling starts. It will thicken up nicely for you. Definitely Five Stars. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This chocolate pie tasted heavenly! I don't know what it is "different" about this recipe, compared to the old fashioned chocolate cream pie that I usually make, but this was more fudge-like. I will definitely make it many more times! I did not alter the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I will look no further for a chocolate cream pie recipe. The chocolate flavor of this pie is phenomenal! Fudgy and rich, and holds up very nicely. I accidentally added too much milk the first time, so I was 'forced' to double the recipe. The filling amount was perfect for 2 9-inch (Pillsbury) crusts. This is what I will do from now on as it is too delicious to only make one! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This pie was easy to make and set up nicely. It "turned out" which can sometimes be a problem with this kind of pie, so I was happy with that. The flavor was quite good. I personally did not like it as much as my children. They raved and ate several slices. I found the texture to be a tad grainy and maybe a bit rich. But, I was definitely in the minority. I will probably make this again, though I might use a different pie crust. The crust did not hold up so well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This was very good. I think next time i'll add just a bit more cornstarch (it stood up well, but i'd like it even a bit firmer,) and maybe some unsweetened cocoa powder. I put it in an oreo pie crust which was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States