Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Just made this pie because it sounded good. It turned out better than I could have imagined. I have made similar pies before with poor results, but not with this. Did not follow the recipe exactly as I used the suggestions of other reviewers and used evaporated milk for a richer taste and texture and used 2 cups of it rather than 1 1/2 cups. Also added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch. However, I did not have the problem of it not being thick enough, in fact mine was so thick I could hardly whisk it before it ever came to a hard boil, so I went on and removed it from the heat, stirred in the chocolate and vanilla and poured it into the pie shell. There was plenty of filling for a deep dish 9 inch pie and it set up beautifully. I will be preparing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
used this recipe because mine are all packed away and this was the closest to my mothers recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Yummy... VERY rich and creamy! Not your average chocolate cream pie. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Just finished trying this wonderful recipe!! Rave reviews with family since this was a trial run for Thanksgiving Day desserts. Not to sweet and not too bitter, it is absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Armona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! It tasted very professional and this was the first pie I ever made and it was surprisingly very easy. I did add a little bit more milk and corn starch like some of the commenters suggested and it thickened a bit more. I used a store bought graham cracker crust and topped with cool whip. Going to make this for the family at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent-everyone from Grandpa to my teenagers and my picky husband loved it. I did as many suggested and used 2 cups milk and 4 tbls cornstarch and it set very well. I also used the Sweetened Whipped Cream recipe from here for the topping-also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
With a few changes this really delicious chocolate cream pie becomes out of this world wonderful. Like other reviewers, added an extra 1/2 cup milk and 1 tablespoon cornstarch. I also didn't have unsweetened chocolate so instead I used bittersweet chocolate chips and I doubled the amount of chocolate to 1/2 cup. I also added 1 Tbs cocoa powder to balance out the sweetness (and I just really like chocolate :) Also, at the same time I added the chocolate I added 1/4 cup peanut butter. Its enough to add just a hint of the peanut butter taste while bringing out the chocolate flavor and bringing all of the ingredients together. One last thing: I used a graham cracker crust instead of a pie crust. This just made it all that much better. And you don't have to worry about soggy pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars, because I can just IMAGINE how awesome this will be NEXT time I make this recipe! I too added 2 extra teaspoons of cornstarch and and extra 1/2 cup of milk. The pudding was really enough to fill a 9" pie. I did pile high whipped topping, but the pie did need more pudding. Next time I am going to double the pudding mixture and use a deep dish pie pan. Any extra pudding, I'll put into pudding cups or icecream cones. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. I made it according to directions, I was a little worried that it might not set up, it didn`t get real thick in the sauce pan. I took a chance on it and was happy with the results and complimements I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I rarely find any recipe of this type rich and fudgey enough, but this one very much is! Like many other reviewers, I doubled the cornstarch and used 2c. of milk, and looove the resulting pudding/pie filling. The filling recipe is also a fantastic base recipe, and I've successfully altered it to incorporate peanutbutter, beer, and many other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States