Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
When I saw all of the positive reviews for these muffins, I thought I'd found a winner. Boy was I wrong. The muffins are very sugary tasting, bland, and lacking in chocolate flavor. Fudgy was definitely the wrong adjective to use in the name, because there is nothing fudge-like about them. I was expecting something more rich and flavorful. Definitely one of the worst chocolate-chocolate chip muffins I've ever tasted. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Contrary to the other reviewers' thoughts, I found this muffin to be very moist and fudgy. I always cut baking time by a third or a quarter and start checking for doneness at that time. I don't usually have toothpicks so I found a spaghetti noodle works great...if it comes back clean after being poked int he center of the muffin, it is done. My children LOVED LOVED LOVED the muffins and they were gone that very day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Caudill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
A very nice recipe. Tastes very good. But I had to cut down baking time, because they came out to dry. I also did add a little milk and a little more softened butter. So the second time (yes yes) I made them they were delicious and also moist and tasty. Thanks for the great recipe. Greetings from the Netherlands! (Excuse my bad language!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I loved this muffin. My husband on the other hand wished it was more moist. I gave it a 5 star for the flavor, and I will work on figuring out how to make it more moist without compromising the flavor. I did omit the cinnamon, and I substitued 1/2 c. sour cream for the applesauce, as I had none on hand. I also added a dash of salt. These are way better than the box muffins I have been making to send to work with my husband. Thanks! 4/29/07 - made this muffins again, and this time used the applesauce called for instead of sour cream I had subbed before. I also increased the margarine to 1/2 c. and added some milk (probably 1/4 c.) and they were nice and moist. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These muffins turned out fantastically! I did change things up a bit though. I doubled the recipe and came out with 18 muffins, not 24. I also used cinnamon applesauce and omitted the extra cinnamon, I felt that this was a good compromise. I also realized that I was out of butter, so I used olive oil spread and noticed no issues with it. I was also out of chocolate chips! So, I finely chopped up some other chocolates I had lying around and it actually added a little bit of fudginess. Since I was low on chocolate, I compensated by adding a little bit more cocoa powder. Some baking tips: I suggest using a spring-action ice cream scoop to distribute the batter into the muffin tins, it is even and a lot less messy. I also sprinkled white sugar on the tops of each muffin before baking for a slight crunch on the tops. I baked these for 24 minutes and they were perfect! Let them cool for about a minute in the tin, and if you do not want to eat them right away, cool them the rest of the way out of the tin on wire racks. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
One word: Brownie. That is how I would describe these, and if they were called "Brownie Muffins", they would be perfectly named. The stayed flat (like other reviewers mentioned). The taste was good, but again, very much like a brownie! I like brownies so I very much enjoyed these. My sons thought they had died and gone to heaven because they got brownies in muffin shapes for breakfast. For the applesauce, I subbed 1/4 cup oil, and because the batter was very thick, added a 1/4 cup milk. Otherwise, followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These were moist and tasty. I didn't have choc chips so I just left them out and honestly no one missed them. I also used whole wheat flour and 1 cup of reg sugar. I up'ed the cocoa powder to almost a 1/2 cup and I ran out of apple sauce so with my 2nd batch I used yogurt, again very yummy! They spread a bit too much so some weren't real pretty but still tasty! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Don't waste your time on these. I even added another egg, and baking powder and they still sank in the middle. Sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mageee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Waste of ingredients! Mine sunk in the middle and were hard as rocks, plus the edges burned even cooking for only 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I was a little short on applesauce so I made up the difference with light sour cream. After mixing together the dry ingredients I didn't think it had enough cocoa powder so I added a litte more - about 1/8 cup. The result was perfect. Check them right at 22 minutes or you might overbake and dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

Deliciously moist chocolate muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States