Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
These muffins were pretty good. I didn't have any applesauce in the house, so I replaced it with some oil, which I think made them turn out a little different. However, I still thought they were good. Next time I make them, I would probably use milk chocolate chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Contrary to the other reviewers' thoughts, I found this muffin to be very moist and fudgy. I always cut baking time by a third or a quarter and start checking for doneness at that time. I don't usually have toothpicks so I found a spaghetti noodle works great...if it comes back clean after being poked int he center of the muffin, it is done. My children LOVED LOVED LOVED the muffins and they were gone that very day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Caudill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Lear, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
A very nice recipe. Tastes very good. But I had to cut down baking time, because they came out to dry. I also did add a little milk and a little more softened butter. So the second time (yes yes) I made them they were delicious and also moist and tasty. Thanks for the great recipe. Greetings from the Netherlands! (Excuse my bad language!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Yum, yum, yum - all the neighborhood kids loved. I substituted melted butter for the margarine, and since I didn't have chocoate chips I added aboout 4 oz melted bittersweet chocolate. I baked at 340 degrees. They were slightly dry so next time will add a bit more liquid. Thx for the recipe and helpful hints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I loved this muffin. My husband on the other hand wished it was more moist. I gave it a 5 star for the flavor, and I will work on figuring out how to make it more moist without compromising the flavor. I did omit the cinnamon, and I substitued 1/2 c. sour cream for the applesauce, as I had none on hand. I also added a dash of salt. These are way better than the box muffins I have been making to send to work with my husband. Thanks! 4/29/07 - made this muffins again, and this time used the applesauce called for instead of sour cream I had subbed before. I also increased the margarine to 1/2 c. and added some milk (probably 1/4 c.) and they were nice and moist. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
These muffins turned out fantastically! I did change things up a bit though. I doubled the recipe and came out with 18 muffins, not 24. I also used cinnamon applesauce and omitted the extra cinnamon, I felt that this was a good compromise. I also realized that I was out of butter, so I used olive oil spread and noticed no issues with it. I was also out of chocolate chips! So, I finely chopped up some other chocolates I had lying around and it actually added a little bit of fudginess. Since I was low on chocolate, I compensated by adding a little bit more cocoa powder. Some baking tips: I suggest using a spring-action ice cream scoop to distribute the batter into the muffin tins, it is even and a lot less messy. I also sprinkled white sugar on the tops of each muffin before baking for a slight crunch on the tops. I baked these for 24 minutes and they were perfect! Let them cool for about a minute in the tin, and if you do not want to eat them right away, cool them the rest of the way out of the tin on wire racks. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This is a very chocolatie recipe. No more chocolate needed here. Only change I made to the recipe is I added french vanilla yogurt in place of the applesauce.Did not add cinnamon or icing sugar. I had to cook the muffins a bit longer but they turned out excellent. I would highly recommend this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I used vegetable oil instead of applesauce and it came out a little oily. I definitely doubled the cocoa powder and it was worth it. Make sure you keep these covered...they get hard on top. These would be great with walnuts if you are a nut lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
These are good muffins but I don't know that they live up to their fudgy name. I was expecting a more moist muffin. They were not overly dry mind you, but with the word fudgy in the title, I expected a moister texture. Still, I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I am 7 years old and I made these muffins for dinner yesterday. We ate them all up. They were so good my dad asked me for the recipe and made some more of them to take to work!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States