Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
One word: Brownie. That is how I would describe these, and if they were called "Brownie Muffins", they would be perfectly named. The stayed flat (like other reviewers mentioned). The taste was good, but again, very much like a brownie! I like brownies so I very much enjoyed these. My sons thought they had died and gone to heaven because they got brownies in muffin shapes for breakfast. For the applesauce, I subbed 1/4 cup oil, and because the batter was very thick, added a 1/4 cup milk. Otherwise, followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
The taste of the batter was sugary and not very chocolatey, so I was not surprised to find that the muffins themselves tasted the same way. SO overwhelmingly sweet, I could not even finish one and I am a BIG chocolate dessert fan. Furthermore,to make matters worse, these never raised and came out flat as can be (to be fair, I did substitute butter for the margarine, so perhaps that is the reason). Sorry, but this will be my first-ever "1-star" rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These were excellent. I changed the recipe a bit. Made them as mini muffins, baked about 17 minutes. I also added 1T margarine and 2/3 c. milk as another reviewer suggested. They were a hit at our Groundhog Day party. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
So incredibly good! I would suggest doubling the recipe because these will go fast. I wanted to freeze half, but everyone ate them before I could. I used half the cinnamon, though I think the full amount would be great as well. I used chunky applesauce. Very chocolately- enough for a dessert, but great for a breakfast treat. I'll be making these forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Definitely leave out the cinnamon. It gives them a strange taste. Barely made 10 mufffins. But those ten muffins were really good while warm. Still good cold, but I prefer my chips gooey. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is awesome. They aren't too sweet or too chocolately, just right. They don't rise very much, so don't be afraid to fill the cups most of the way to the top. I really liked that they were made with applesauce instead of oil, makes them just a tiny bit healthier for everyone. Delicious. Will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbrekkaas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I love these muffins! They do taste a lot like a brownie. I added some extra chocolate chips (just because I like chocolate chips). I have made these 3 times in the past week and am making them for the school bake sale. Super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ts2005m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
these were GREAT!!! best muffins ever!!! everyone that tastes them wants another and another and another.go down great with guests!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
As a PP suggested, I switched to baking powder (esp. as I used alkalized cocoa powder) but the muffins still did not rise that much. I am going to try the original suggestion of baking soda next time to see if that helps. Edited: I didn't even realise I'd tried and reviewed this recipe already but this time I'm raising to 5 stars. I didn't have applesauce so I subbed a mashed banana. I used more like 1/3 c cocoa powder and butter instead of margarine. They were fantastic! Moist and chocolately. The chocolate intensity is great. I am not a chocoholic but I tried the Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffin recipe the same evening (as I could not give away the flat fudgy muffins) and the taste was bland in comparison to these. The fudgy muffins are much better. For those who complained, the intensity of cocoa powder is brought out if you dissolve it in boiling water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I know some of you were complaining that they are more cake-like than "fudgy" and by accident I have fixed that! If you add 2 sticks of butter and about 5 minutes to the cook time they are a "brownie-muffin hybrid" as my husband put it. This does make them severely unhealthy, but they sure are good! Oh, I also forgot to add I changed the recipe to 18, and discovered I was out of brown sugar so I made my own with molasses and white sugar, and I used regular salted sweet cream butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States