Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is awesome. They aren't too sweet or too chocolately, just right. They don't rise very much, so don't be afraid to fill the cups most of the way to the top. I really liked that they were made with applesauce instead of oil, makes them just a tiny bit healthier for everyone. Delicious. Will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbrekkaas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I love these muffins! They do taste a lot like a brownie. I added some extra chocolate chips (just because I like chocolate chips). I have made these 3 times in the past week and am making them for the school bake sale. Super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ts2005m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
these were GREAT!!! best muffins ever!!! everyone that tastes them wants another and another and another.go down great with guests!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
As a PP suggested, I switched to baking powder (esp. as I used alkalized cocoa powder) but the muffins still did not rise that much. I am going to try the original suggestion of baking soda next time to see if that helps. Edited: I didn't even realise I'd tried and reviewed this recipe already but this time I'm raising to 5 stars. I didn't have applesauce so I subbed a mashed banana. I used more like 1/3 c cocoa powder and butter instead of margarine. They were fantastic! Moist and chocolately. The chocolate intensity is great. I am not a chocoholic but I tried the Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffin recipe the same evening (as I could not give away the flat fudgy muffins) and the taste was bland in comparison to these. The fudgy muffins are much better. For those who complained, the intensity of cocoa powder is brought out if you dissolve it in boiling water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I know some of you were complaining that they are more cake-like than "fudgy" and by accident I have fixed that! If you add 2 sticks of butter and about 5 minutes to the cook time they are a "brownie-muffin hybrid" as my husband put it. This does make them severely unhealthy, but they sure are good! Oh, I also forgot to add I changed the recipe to 18, and discovered I was out of brown sugar so I made my own with molasses and white sugar, and I used regular salted sweet cream butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I wouldnt call them fudgy but they are really good. They were a big hit w/ my husband. Very easy to make too, which is what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbass505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
very fudgy and chocolaty but over all very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DancingLily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I'm making these muffins for the second time. I made the following substitutions: whole wheat flour, 1/2 c and white flour 1/2 c in place of all white; butter instead of margarine. These were very good, and were devoured quickly by my children and my visitors. Nice and fudgy, and I did not have a problem with the muffins rising, although they did not rise very high. This time I'm making them with baking powder 3/4 t instead of 1/2 t baking soda. Don't know why I'm fooling with what has worked for me in the past, but we'll see how it turns out. Thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe was a complete flop. The muffins were concave and did not rise at all. The taste was good and my small children still liked them. I will try them with baking powder instead and report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
YUMMY! Stuck to the recipe exactly except(contradiction in terms!)added a tiny bit more cocoa (rushing before pre-kindergarten)to mix. I also used a square cake tin . Reminded me of brownies. My daughter loved it."Mmmmmmm"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States