Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I had to review because I have heard good and bad from others about this recipe. I made these as MINI muffins...added 1/2 tsp baking pwd (to help rise), and about 3/4 tsp of salt...to balance out the sweetness. They turned out perfect and tasty..unlike many chocolate muffins I have tasted in the past. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These muffins were really moist and delicious. I will definitely make them again. I tweaked the recipe a bit. I added sour cream in place of apple sauce because I didn't have any and butter in place of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe was horrible. I followed the recipe to a T and all of the muffins came out of the oven sunk in the middle. Thinking it was the baking soda (maybe it was a little too old), I bought a new box and made the muffins again. And again, they were sunk in the middle. I really, really would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckoaks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These stay moist for a while. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Excellent. I was suprised to read negative reviews of this muffin recipe. Mine came out perfect. Not flat and certainly not dull to the taste. Naturally, one had to make a few modifications, for example, remove the brown sugar and use large bitter chocolate buttons in combination with good quality British cocoa and salty butter. Many of those complaints about flatness sounds like the baker is not using the right flour with the right amount of baking powder and is NOT in full control of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These were tasty. Because others said that they came out flat I used half a tsp of baking powder to see if they would rise more. They were not flat but not full like muffins usually are. I also used 1/4 of oil and 1/4 cup of apple sauce. As others mentioned it does have the taste and texture of a brownie, just baked in a muffin form. I was hoping for more of a cakey, more moist type muffin. My husband liked them though. I thought they were good as well but not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
One word: Brownie. That is how I would describe these, and if they were called "Brownie Muffins", they would be perfectly named. The stayed flat (like other reviewers mentioned). The taste was good, but again, very much like a brownie! I like brownies so I very much enjoyed these. My sons thought they had died and gone to heaven because they got brownies in muffin shapes for breakfast. For the applesauce, I subbed 1/4 cup oil, and because the batter was very thick, added a 1/4 cup milk. Otherwise, followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
The taste of the batter was sugary and not very chocolatey, so I was not surprised to find that the muffins themselves tasted the same way. SO overwhelmingly sweet, I could not even finish one and I am a BIG chocolate dessert fan. Furthermore,to make matters worse, these never raised and came out flat as can be (to be fair, I did substitute butter for the margarine, so perhaps that is the reason). Sorry, but this will be my first-ever "1-star" rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These were excellent. I changed the recipe a bit. Made them as mini muffins, baked about 17 minutes. I also added 1T margarine and 2/3 c. milk as another reviewer suggested. They were a hit at our Groundhog Day party. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States