Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These stay moist for a while. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Excellent. I was suprised to read negative reviews of this muffin recipe. Mine came out perfect. Not flat and certainly not dull to the taste. Naturally, one had to make a few modifications, for example, remove the brown sugar and use large bitter chocolate buttons in combination with good quality British cocoa and salty butter. Many of those complaints about flatness sounds like the baker is not using the right flour with the right amount of baking powder and is NOT in full control of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These were tasty. Because others said that they came out flat I used half a tsp of baking powder to see if they would rise more. They were not flat but not full like muffins usually are. I also used 1/4 of oil and 1/4 cup of apple sauce. As others mentioned it does have the taste and texture of a brownie, just baked in a muffin form. I was hoping for more of a cakey, more moist type muffin. My husband liked them though. I thought they were good as well but not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
One word: Brownie. That is how I would describe these, and if they were called "Brownie Muffins", they would be perfectly named. The stayed flat (like other reviewers mentioned). The taste was good, but again, very much like a brownie! I like brownies so I very much enjoyed these. My sons thought they had died and gone to heaven because they got brownies in muffin shapes for breakfast. For the applesauce, I subbed 1/4 cup oil, and because the batter was very thick, added a 1/4 cup milk. Otherwise, followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
The taste of the batter was sugary and not very chocolatey, so I was not surprised to find that the muffins themselves tasted the same way. SO overwhelmingly sweet, I could not even finish one and I am a BIG chocolate dessert fan. Furthermore,to make matters worse, these never raised and came out flat as can be (to be fair, I did substitute butter for the margarine, so perhaps that is the reason). Sorry, but this will be my first-ever "1-star" rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These were excellent. I changed the recipe a bit. Made them as mini muffins, baked about 17 minutes. I also added 1T margarine and 2/3 c. milk as another reviewer suggested. They were a hit at our Groundhog Day party. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
So incredibly good! I would suggest doubling the recipe because these will go fast. I wanted to freeze half, but everyone ate them before I could. I used half the cinnamon, though I think the full amount would be great as well. I used chunky applesauce. Very chocolately- enough for a dessert, but great for a breakfast treat. I'll be making these forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Definitely leave out the cinnamon. It gives them a strange taste. Barely made 10 mufffins. But those ten muffins were really good while warm. Still good cold, but I prefer my chips gooey. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is awesome. They aren't too sweet or too chocolately, just right. They don't rise very much, so don't be afraid to fill the cups most of the way to the top. I really liked that they were made with applesauce instead of oil, makes them just a tiny bit healthier for everyone. Delicious. Will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbrekkaas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I love these muffins! They do taste a lot like a brownie. I added some extra chocolate chips (just because I like chocolate chips). I have made these 3 times in the past week and am making them for the school bake sale. Super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ts2005m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States