Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These were quite tasty! I followed some other reviewer's advice : added 1/2 tsp. baking powder, changed to 1/3 cup cocoa (I used the "Special Dark"), added 3/4 tsp. salt, and cut the white sugar a little. I also took a pass on the cinnamon. The wonderful crisp top was lost overnight which is a little bit of a bummer, but the taste doesn't fade. If I can I will always try to bake + serve them on the same day to preserve the crispy top which sends them into totally awesome territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
They were very good, the kids LOVE them. I thought they were a little too sweet, will probably reduce the white sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Love them! Used 1/2 c cocoa bcs out of choc chips. Had no applesauce, so used 1/8 c water and 1/8 c cream since I was also out of milk! Lol Very fudgy and didn't fall at all. Thick batter, probaby bcs of my changes. Made 10 muffins. Will make again w choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These were pretty good. Based on other reviews I did add extra cocoa (1/3 c total) and 1/4 c milk. I will make these again but next time use yogart in place of the applesause. I bake using applesauce instead of oil all the time (although this is my first attempt at using it with chocolate) and it gave these kind of an odd scent and flavor at first. Still good, I thought with the increased cocoa they were very fudgy. I also added a pinch of salt and only 1/2 c of mini choco chip (they don't sink).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I can't imagine where all the negative comments are coming from... mine were not dry at all, they were moist and indeed fudgy. They didn't fall, they puffed up beautifully. And they did not stick to the paper liner whatsoever. Maybe I just got lucky? I did leave the cinnamon out, and I accidentally beat all the wet ingredients together instead of creaming the butter and sugar together first and then adding the applesauce. Just kind of dumped it all in together. They were fabulous- they got a RAVE review from my boyfriend, who always simply says things are "good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I was a little short on applesauce so I made up the difference with light sour cream. After mixing together the dry ingredients I didn't think it had enough cocoa powder so I added a litte more - about 1/8 cup. The result was perfect. Check them right at 22 minutes or you might overbake and dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These muffins are delicious. They are so moist and fudgy and just delicious. I have made them twice before and today I am making them but with 3/4 c. applesauce and 1/8c. butter. I am going to see how them come out, but they will be a bit healthier. Enjoy these while they last, which is not long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie Davanzo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I wouldn't call the fudgy. They were a little on the dry side, but considering the ingredients, I think that they are perfect for satisfying a chocolate craving without a lot of guilt. My kids called them chocolate cupcakes with chocolate chips in them and gobbled them up. I do really like the addition of the cinnamon in them. Will probably make these again considering how much my kids liked them. I would rather serve them these that other higher fat ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used homemade organic applesauce, butter instead of margerine, a 1/2 cup of Splenda and omitted the brown sugar completely, two egg whites, a full teaspoon of vanilla and whole wheat flour. I didn't add the cinnamon only because my applesauce was already spiced. I used dark chocolate chips. Making these a little lighter and a bit healthier was the only way I could be okay with making double-chocolate chip muffins for my husband. They're cooling now but I'll update my review once my family has tried them in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My kids loved these for a sweet treat. Thanks for the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States