Fudgy Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Woah - these are DANGEROUS. People can't believe I made these myself. Yum. Anyway, here is my take as I normally try to cut back on the "bad" parts of most recipes (sugar and salt). 1) I used Milk chocolate chips in place of anything else for a slightly smoother creamy taste. So much better I find - as do my "food fans". When I do this, I find you can omit 1/4 of the sugar - always a bonus for me. 2) I also skipped the cinnamon and I filled the cups almost all the way - not 3/4 of the way like it says. They don't rise very much....for me anyway. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These are so good! I always use "Special Dark" cocoa powder instead of normal, so I did that, and I used an egg replacer instead of egg because I'm vegan. Those were my only changes, and these muffins are amazing! They are definitely very fudgy - they're almost exactly like the fudge brownies I used to make a few years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very yummy and moist! My kids and my man loved these, as did I :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I had trouble with these muffins not rising too. However, I did modify the recipe so that is probably why. They taste amazing, so all in all it was worth it. My changes were adding 1/4 cup buttermilk, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and I also added one round teaspoon of instant espresso to enhance the chocolate flavor. I followed another reviewers advice and added a little more cocoa, so I probably used 1/3 cup. These changes produced a wonderfully moist chocolaty muffin, just didn't rise well- will be trying the recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is a really good recipe, but it is a bit heavy for a muffin! It is like a muffin/brownie combo. If you like brownies I would highly recommend this muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
A nice and fudgy chocolate muffin but it didn't rise as I had hoped. I would add baking powder the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Absolutely love them! They do tend to get dry if you don't really watch them while cooking. But if you get it right, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Waste of ingredients! Mine sunk in the middle and were hard as rocks, plus the edges burned even cooking for only 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilafeal13
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The measurements only produced 8 cupcakes for me, I found them to be a little dry, and it didn't have quite that fudgy choclotaty flavor I was looking fo. Over all, the they still turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These were quite tasty! I followed some other reviewer's advice : added 1/2 tsp. baking powder, changed to 1/3 cup cocoa (I used the "Special Dark"), added 3/4 tsp. salt, and cut the white sugar a little. I also took a pass on the cinnamon. The wonderful crisp top was lost overnight which is a little bit of a bummer, but the taste doesn't fade. If I can I will always try to bake + serve them on the same day to preserve the crispy top which sends them into totally awesome territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States