Fudgy Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was ecstatic to find this recipe here! It was my all-time, favorite from-scratch brownie recipe and I had lost it. If I remember correctly, it was featured in magazine ads for Hershey baking products in the early '80s. In the original recipe you are advised to measure the boiling water accurately and not overbake the brownies. I was always careful to do these 2 things and the brownies turned out perfectly. Better to check them at the minimum baking time than end up with a giant brown doorstop. Thank you again, Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookbabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Turned out great ! I added peanut butter chips Is definitely one of the better brownie recipes going :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
not very fudgy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACHILDERS94

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
So yummy!! I actually had exactly 1/3 cup vegetable oil left, so for the 2nd 1/3 cup, I had to use Olive oil. They came out pretty awesome though!! My hubby loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaZia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Tested these ahead of time for a church function. Pretty well pleased with the result, though I did make one small change first time, i.e., I substituted unsalted butter for the first 1/3 cup oil. Texture was perfect, chewy but not gooey and still moist & tender. Flavor wasn't as strong as I would like - needed more salt (probably because of the unsalted butter), and I'd prefer a more intense chocolate flavor (I'm a dark chocolate lover!). Next time I'll increase the salt to 1tsp, add some instant coffee, double the vanilla, and add bittersweet chunks or morsels on top. If that works, I'll bring it up to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
After looking online for a good brownie recipe, I stumbled on this one.... simple ingredients almost everyone has in the cubboard..... I used Special Dark cocoa, peanut oil, and 2 t. vanilla as well as adding 3/4 bag chocolate chunks, and almost an entire bag of pecan pieces. DELICIOUS!!!!! I'm sending this recipe to everyone I know, and will make it often. SO SO easy, and SO SO chocolatey, fudgy good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Vilar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kiel, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
my husband loves this recipe. i have been looking for others and he always tells me stop changing the recipe he wants the ones i first made.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinlamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Just a very good, fudgy brownie. My only problem was I put them into a container while they were still a little warm, so they stuck together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
YUM! I was looking for a simple recipe with ingredients I always have on hand, and this is it! Sweet but not overly so, not cakey and not too dense, this is my new go-to recipe. I will say that I used mini muffin tins instead of a 9x13 pan, but that just meant that every brownie muffin tasted like a corner piece- crispy on top and soft on bottom. No more boxed mixes for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States