Fudge Truffle Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Wow! GREAT recipe! I've made this several times and its always a hit. My only hint/tip is to make sure all filling ingredients are at room temp. prior to blending (warm the unopened can of cond. milk in a bowl of very warm water!) so that a smooth, even finished product results! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is great!! Everyone thinks I am a fabulous cook whenever I bring this cheesecake. Follow the recipe exactly, but after the 55 min baking time, turn the oven off, and leave the cheesecake in the now cooling oven for at least 1 hour. It will not crack, and it will be firmed up in the middle. It's best if eaten the next day, but no one will complain if it's only been chilled a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Absolutley Awesome!!! I am not a big chocolate cheesecake fan usually (I like plain old New York Cheesecake)but I thought I'd try this for my honey's birthday!!WOW, decadently sinful!! Very smooth, creamy and rich, just like truffles. I would recommend using the crust recipe given for this as it is much better than just a chocolate cookie crumb crust. I also used a 10" springform pan. Came out flawless, not a crack to be found. I put a pan of water on the rack below the cheesecake and left in the oven for about an hour after I turned the oven off!! I also baked it two days in advance and kept in the fridge. Serve at room temp. though!! Definitly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
This cheesecake has become a part of my signature dessert. I accidentally came accross another recipe at "ALLRECIPES.com" called "Raspberry White Chocolate Mousse" Submitted by: Stacey Walery. I combined the two by makeing them each according to the submitted directions. After the cheesecake has cooled, I had the mousse to the top and chill in the pan. With the rasberry sauce you can make a beautiful plate presentation to really wow your friends and guests. And, the mousse really helps to offset the richness of the cheescake. You simply must give this a try. Remember, a little piece of this dessert goes a long way. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This cheesecake is AMAZING!!! I served it at my Christmas party and it VANISHED. Everyone was raving about it. First, I used all Neufchatel cheese (1/3 less fat). I baked it for 58 minutes on a cookie sheet in a springform pan. Instead of the crust suggested in the recipe, I baked a box of brownies for 30 minutes, then while hot I scooped the brownie out and pressed it into the bottom of the springform pan. Then I poured the cheesecake in and baked it as usual. After the cheesecake cooled, I mixed up a ganache (boil 1 cup half and half, remove from heat, add 8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate and 1 ounce bittersweet chocolate, wisk until smooth). I poured the ganache on top of the cheesecake and immediatly placed it back into the fridge for 30 minutes to cool. This was AMAZING. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This cheesecake was amazing. I made them into individual cakes using foil wrappers, and an oreo cookie half for the crust, then baked for 12-15 minutes. Turned out really well, and easy to divide for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
One word comes to mind after taking a bite of this…decadent! This truly tasted like a fudge truffle, it was rich, creamy, almost silky! I used reduced fat cream cheese, but trust me, you would have never known the difference. I would also recommend that you use a very good chocolate, I used Wilbur semi-sweet chocolate. Also, make sure your cream cheese and eggs are at room temperature to achieve that smooth silky consistency and I always add the eggs one at a time as I beat them in. The cookie crust is absolutely perfect, I wouldn’t cheat and use Oreos for the crust, they just don’t seem to go with the taste of a truffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Wow! This was a wonderful recipe. I have made other cheese cakes and this recipe is very easy. My cake did crack but I filled in the top with a dark chocolate ganache and it looked perfect. I had people ask me where I bought the cheese cake! One big tip, when cutting your cake run your knife under hot water, dry it off, and slice. Do this for each cut and you will have a perfectly cut cake. Time consuming but so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I have made this 3 times already~ everyone loves it. I used graham cracker crumbs instead of vanilla wafers~ yum yum yum. It does come out a little underdone, so I just leave it in the oven while it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
The recipe was good and the cake turned out great - but it wasn't "all that I had hoped for" based on the reviews. I felt it was a "good" chocolate cheesecake but not phenomenal like others promised. It didn't remind me of truffles and it wasn't "fudgy" per say. I would try an oreo crust if I made it again. I did melt semi-sweet chips in a ziplock bag, cut the corner and wrote "Happy Birthday Mom" in chocolate and drizzled it all along the edges and down the sides which made for a very pretty looking dessert. Not sure I will make it again though. I'm still searching for something that is a chocolate explosion that can fulfill my fantasies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States