Fudge of the Irish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Wow, delicious! My first attempt at fudge and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
All I can say is it is great! We made one batch for tomorrow, and had to make a second batch to take to work as a treat! We used a homemade Irish cream instead of the alchool variety. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Babineau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I thought this recipe was amazing...I had some concerns because one of the other reviewers said that it had no irish cream flavor...but wow! I tasted it while it was still warm and I was concerned it did not have any Irish cream flavor...so I left it to cool and walked away...it turned into the creamiest, smoothest, fluffy (but still dense?) fudge ever. Make it soon :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Super easy and straight forward. A candy thermometer and patience are essential for texture and color. If you cook candy too fast, it burns, separates, darkens, becomes granulated and will not set. It must be stirred often. Do not scrape the granulated sides of pan back into the mixture either or this can ruin texture. Mine took over 30 min to reach desired temp. The temps listed here are off also. 238 F is actually 114 C. The goal is to cook to the soft ball stage on a standard candy thermometer. I made these for a St. patrick's day picnic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Fantastic! Really smooth. I skipped the "1 cup white sugar". Plenty sweet without it. Also greasy enough that it will come out of the pan easily, so you can skip the parchment paper and just butter your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaconsfield, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was delicious! I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out perfectly. Yes, it is sweet, but that is to be expected from fudge. The flavor is delicious. To the reviewer who's fudge did not set, make sure you have a good candy thermometer, or it is difficult to know when it is done. I have been searching for Christmas candy recipes that don't involve nuts (due to a nut allergy) and this is going to be added to our new traditions. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Delicious! Turned out beautifully! Quite sweet, but oh so creamy and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Excellent flavor! Mine turned out grainy. Still great to eat & enjoy. I'm just wondering what I can do to improve the texture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I really wanted to like this recipe. I am certainly not an experienced candy/ fudge cook so I'm sure some of this went wrong due to my errors, but I was pretty disappointed. The fudge never solidified, even after 5 hours and time in the fridge, and it did not come out the cream color as shown in the picture, it was much more of a caramel color and it tastes like caramel too, which covers over the flavor of the Irish cream completely. It is also MUCH too sweet for my tastes, but I should have expected that with over 4 cups of sugar in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States