Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I like this recipe. I used 2 squares of chocolate and milk instead of water. Once I melted the butter and chocolate together, I allowed it to come to room temperature, as well as the egg white. I added the amount of icing sugar I needed for the right consistency and it came out smooth and not too sweet. I was using it to frost cupcakes and will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I used this frosting to frost the "Chocolate Frosted Marshmallow Cookies" on this site and it is great! Super-fudgey and a great consistency for frosting these cookies. I think the egg white adds a little elasticity to make it easier to use. I almost ran out, but just added a little water and powdered sugar to stretch it out to frost my last 3 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is my new favorite frosting. I always stress over frosting because I don't like the store jugs of frosting and I don't like homemade frostings that taste too much like powdered sugar. This frosting has a thick but spreadable consistency and it tastes like chocolate. You can't taste the powdered sugar. It has a lovely gloss like ganache but was easier to prepare and apply. I haven't tried this cookie recipe but used it on cupcakes today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Excellent! be careful when adding the egg whites. Be sure to start beating it very quickly or the egg will cook and you'll have a white mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I just made this frosting for the Dark Chocolate Cake ll on this site. Great consistency, perfect for the cake! I made the recipe exactly as written; however, since I prefer dark chocolate I found the frosting WAY too sweet once I tasted it. The sweetness overwhelmed the chocolate. So, I melted 1 additional ounce of unsweetened chocolate with a bit of butter and added it to the frosting I had already prepared. It didn't change the texture and I like the flavor much better! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sashita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I used this frosting for brownies and it was delicious. I think adding a bit of rum would be a nice touch also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was my 14 year old son's first attempt at a cake and frosting. He made this easy and delicious frosting for the cake part of the Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cake I - FANTASTIC! I saved the recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Perfectly fudgy with just the right level of sweetness. Many frostings tend to be way too sweet. This one has a nice, full chocolate flavor. It develops a beautiful sheen and will do your cake, cookies, brownies or cupcakes proud. I didn't even use my mixer. Just beat it by hand for a minute or so. Be aware that it will thicken as it sets. I didn't have to add any water - the consistency was just perfect as is. No trouble with its being granular. Easy, too, with a minimum of ingredients. What more could you want? A surefire winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this to frost the Dark Chocolate Bacon cupcakes from this site and it was an inspired choice. I followed the recipe and added a tsp of instant coffee to my butter chocolate mixture and stirred til smooth before adding the rest of the ingredients. The result was a smooth, rich, deep fudge flavor. This is a keeper, thanks Martha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Years ago Nestle used to promote its "new" product, pre-melted unsweetened chocolate, with an outrageously good brownie recipe along with an equally good fudge frosting. I think what made that frosting so exceptional was that I remember it included an egg yolk. I had measured out half an egg from the "One Bowl Brownie" recipe, and rather than discarding the other half egg, I used it to replace the egg white in this recipe. Just as that Nestle recipe with the egg yolk, this was creamy, silky smooth, fudgey bliss. So easy to mix up you don't even need an electric mixer - just beat the heck out of it with a wooden spoon until it's smooth and glossy. I added just a dribble of hot water, then poured it over my brownies (one recipe is perfect for an 8 or 9" pan) These brownies, frosted with this frosting, combined to make brownie PERFECTION. I don't know if Nestle still promotes that memorable recipe anymore, but with this fudge frosting recipe it really doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States