Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I should have looked at the ingredients more closely before I started this recipe, because the uncooked egg whites bothered me a bit.... so I changed things. Instead of egg whites, I threw in some skim milk to soften the fudge up. What I ended up with is a heavenly fudge frosting. I am glad I found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Years ago Nestle used to promote its "new" product, pre-melted unsweetened chocolate, with an outrageously good brownie recipe along with an equally good fudge frosting. I think what made that frosting so exceptional was that I remember it included an egg yolk. I had measured out half an egg from the "One Bowl Brownie" recipe, and rather than discarding the other half egg, I used it to replace the egg white in this recipe. Just as that Nestle recipe with the egg yolk, this was creamy, silky smooth, fudgey bliss. So easy to mix up you don't even need an electric mixer - just beat the heck out of it with a wooden spoon until it's smooth and glossy. I added just a dribble of hot water, then poured it over my brownies (one recipe is perfect for an 8 or 9" pan) These brownies, frosted with this frosting, combined to make brownie PERFECTION. I don't know if Nestle still promotes that memorable recipe anymore, but with this fudge frosting recipe it really doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Perfectly fudgy with just the right level of sweetness. Many frostings tend to be way too sweet. This one has a nice, full chocolate flavor. It develops a beautiful sheen and will do your cake, cookies, brownies or cupcakes proud. I didn't even use my mixer. Just beat it by hand for a minute or so. Be aware that it will thicken as it sets. I didn't have to add any water - the consistency was just perfect as is. No trouble with its being granular. Easy, too, with a minimum of ingredients. What more could you want? A surefire winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I used this frosting for brownies and it was delicious. I think adding a bit of rum would be a nice touch also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is my new favorite frosting. I always stress over frosting because I don't like the store jugs of frosting and I don't like homemade frostings that taste too much like powdered sugar. This frosting has a thick but spreadable consistency and it tastes like chocolate. You can't taste the powdered sugar. It has a lovely gloss like ganache but was easier to prepare and apply. I haven't tried this cookie recipe but used it on cupcakes today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Excellent! be careful when adding the egg whites. Be sure to start beating it very quickly or the egg will cook and you'll have a white mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was my 14 year old son's first attempt at a cake and frosting. He made this easy and delicious frosting for the cake part of the Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cake I - FANTASTIC! I saved the recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EWAINS
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
The taste of this frosting was fantastic - chocolaty fudge, exactly what I was looking for to top the Black Magic Cake I made for my husband's birthday. (A double batch perfectly covered two 9-inch layer cakes). My problem with this frosting was the consistency. I followed the directions exactly, and even added more water to thin it out at the end, but it just wasn't very spreadable. It hardened rather quickly and near the end of my cake, I actually had to apply it with my fingers because it wouldn't spread with my frosting spreader. (Thank goodness I was only serving it to my husband & kids!) I'm giving it three stars because the taste was phenomenal & it's quite possible that "user error" resulted in my problems, even though I haven't had previous problems with frosting. I'd certainly be willing to give this recipe another try, possibly keeping it warm longer and adding even more water (or perhaps milk) at the end to thin it out even more, but I'd have to say that I much prefer the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe on this site. It has a similar flavor, hardens beautifully and it doesn't use raw egg (if that bothers you at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EWAINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Not bad. I usually make a ganache, but had no cream in the house. Followed the hints from others - avoided egg white since I wasn't confident about undercooked egg, and added extra 1/2 square of chocolate. Is there any reason why you couldn't do this recipe in the microwave? Will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
excellent - did not include egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States