Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I used this frosting for brownies and it was delicious. I think adding a bit of rum would be a nice touch also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was my 14 year old son's first attempt at a cake and frosting. He made this easy and delicious frosting for the cake part of the Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cake I - FANTASTIC! I saved the recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was pretty good. It wasn't really smooth though, even though I put some water in it like you suggested. More like grainy, as in the texture of sugar. The taste by itself was amazing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
the taste was great I used a couble broiler and cooked at low heat the whole time. I put in an extra teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 cup p. suger which might has been the reason it was a little runny and it was definatly not enought for a layer cake you would need to double it at least. but it was a hit with the hubby on top of a black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I also put this frosting on brownies and it was delicious. I added a scoop of peanut butter, which made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I should have looked at the ingredients more closely before I started this recipe, because the uncooked egg whites bothered me a bit.... so I changed things. Instead of egg whites, I threw in some skim milk to soften the fudge up. What I ended up with is a heavenly fudge frosting. I am glad I found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Terrible frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I used this frosting to frost the "Chocolate Frosted Marshmallow Cookies" on this site and it is great! Super-fudgey and a great consistency for frosting these cookies. I think the egg white adds a little elasticity to make it easier to use. I almost ran out, but just added a little water and powdered sugar to stretch it out to frost my last 3 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I like this recipe. I used 2 squares of chocolate and milk instead of water. Once I melted the butter and chocolate together, I allowed it to come to room temperature, as well as the egg white. I added the amount of icing sugar I needed for the right consistency and it came out smooth and not too sweet. I was using it to frost cupcakes and will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is my new favorite frosting. I always stress over frosting because I don't like the store jugs of frosting and I don't like homemade frostings that taste too much like powdered sugar. This frosting has a thick but spreadable consistency and it tastes like chocolate. You can't taste the powdered sugar. It has a lovely gloss like ganache but was easier to prepare and apply. I haven't tried this cookie recipe but used it on cupcakes today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States