Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Easy and delicious! I used 1 cup 60% cocao Giradhelli chips and 1/2 cup semi-sweet chips instead of squares of unsweetened chocolate. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipes was fantastic, exactly what I was looking for in a chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe is wonderful just the way it is making it to go atop the best moist chocolate cake just like last year he requests this every year for his birthday... Props to you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Excellent! be careful when adding the egg whites. Be sure to start beating it very quickly or the egg will cook and you'll have a white mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Besada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this to frost the Dark Chocolate Bacon cupcakes from this site and it was an inspired choice. I followed the recipe and added a tsp of instant coffee to my butter chocolate mixture and stirred til smooth before adding the rest of the ingredients. The result was a smooth, rich, deep fudge flavor. This is a keeper, thanks Martha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
the taste and texture were great....thin not too sweet, VERY nice chocolate flavor. But it was way too thick. I followed recipe exactly...but had to add alot of water to get it to pour/spread over my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EWAINS
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
The taste of this frosting was fantastic - chocolaty fudge, exactly what I was looking for to top the Black Magic Cake I made for my husband's birthday. (A double batch perfectly covered two 9-inch layer cakes). My problem with this frosting was the consistency. I followed the directions exactly, and even added more water to thin it out at the end, but it just wasn't very spreadable. It hardened rather quickly and near the end of my cake, I actually had to apply it with my fingers because it wouldn't spread with my frosting spreader. (Thank goodness I was only serving it to my husband & kids!) I'm giving it three stars because the taste was phenomenal & it's quite possible that "user error" resulted in my problems, even though I haven't had previous problems with frosting. I'd certainly be willing to give this recipe another try, possibly keeping it warm longer and adding even more water (or perhaps milk) at the end to thin it out even more, but I'd have to say that I much prefer the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe on this site. It has a similar flavor, hardens beautifully and it doesn't use raw egg (if that bothers you at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EWAINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I just made this frosting for the Dark Chocolate Cake ll on this site. Great consistency, perfect for the cake! I made the recipe exactly as written; however, since I prefer dark chocolate I found the frosting WAY too sweet once I tasted it. The sweetness overwhelmed the chocolate. So, I melted 1 additional ounce of unsweetened chocolate with a bit of butter and added it to the frosting I had already prepared. It didn't change the texture and I like the flavor much better! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sashita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Years ago Nestle used to promote its "new" product, pre-melted unsweetened chocolate, with an outrageously good brownie recipe along with an equally good fudge frosting. I think what made that frosting so exceptional was that I remember it included an egg yolk. I had measured out half an egg from the "One Bowl Brownie" recipe, and rather than discarding the other half egg, I used it to replace the egg white in this recipe. Just as that Nestle recipe with the egg yolk, this was creamy, silky smooth, fudgey bliss. So easy to mix up you don't even need an electric mixer - just beat the heck out of it with a wooden spoon until it's smooth and glossy. I added just a dribble of hot water, then poured it over my brownies (one recipe is perfect for an 8 or 9" pan) These brownies, frosted with this frosting, combined to make brownie PERFECTION. I don't know if Nestle still promotes that memorable recipe anymore, but with this fudge frosting recipe it really doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Easy to make, but I was unsure if I should leave the frosting on the heat while beating in the sugar and egg whites. I found it to be a little "gritty" textured, so I stuck it back on the heat to try and incorporate the sugar better, but it still wasn't perfect. The consistency was perfect and didn't need any water. I poured it on the cake when it was still a bit warm, and it spread very nicely over the cake. I let it drip down the sides of the cake instead of frosting the sides and it gave it a nice effect. It hardened up nicely and I topped it with peanut butter chips; everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States