Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Meh, it was more like an icing or glaze than a frosting. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very runny. The taste was good, but the consistency looked nothing like the picture shown. Maybe if I had added more powdered sugar, it would have been better, but I was afraid it would taste too much like powdered sugar, so I left it as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn Wood Bowden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Riverside, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Easy as can be and really, really good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlsteffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is by far the yummiest frosting I've ever made. My changes: I used 2 squares of choc instead of 1.5, and added a bit of hot milk instead of the eggwhite while beating until I got it the consistency I wanted. It is very smooth, fudgey and delicious! Perfect on banana cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
excellent - did not include egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I didnt do this right, u used a whole egg andmade it all on the stove and letit cool..... it turned out good lol fool proof i guess oops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmymayj
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Since I'm a serious chocoholic the original recipe wasn't fudgey enough for me. I put in bitterweet 60% Cacao chocolate but it seemed too sweet and not dark and chocolaty so I added a 1/4 cup of Hershey's Special Dark unsweetened cocoa and bingo! It turned dark and lushishly chocolate! It cut down on the sweetness and gave it so much more depth. I will use this recipe again with the added dark cocoa. It's easy to make and spreads beautifully on cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
PERFECT!!! Exactly what I was looking for....EASY to make, fudgy, and smoothe. I tempered the egg white while melting the chocolate by putting the glass I had it in in a bowl of very warm water for those who might fear "cooking" it...actually, if you just let the mixture sit a bit and after you add the sugar, not even sure the tempering was even necessary. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gansevoort, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
JUST FINISHED MAKE THIS FROSTING AND IT IS AMAZING!!! I FOLLOWED ONE OF THE OTHER COMMENTS AND LEFT THE EGG WHITES OUT AND JUST ADDED A SMALL AMOUNT OF MILK AND IT WORKED OUT JUST GREAT!! I LOVE MAKING CAKES AND HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR A VERY EASY YET FANTASTIC CHOCOLATE ICING. I WILL FOR SURE USE THIS AGAIN.. BUT IN THE FUTURE I WILL DOUBLE OR TRIPPLE THE RECIPIE. IT ONLY MAKES 1 1/2C OF FROSTING. AND FOR CAKES THAT IS JUST A LITTLE SCANT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Delish! I made this yesterday with a chocolate craving and two sweet-craving nieces, and I did everything exactly as it said, and it turned out perfect! Although I'm interested to try Beautsbelle's idea on milk, it sounds delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Easy and delicious! I used 1 cup 60% cocao Giradhelli chips and 1/2 cup semi-sweet chips instead of squares of unsweetened chocolate. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States