Fudge-Filled Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Don't worry Coralie, uwasvwaya is rude to many in her reviews. If you click on her user name and look at the reviews written, many were rude and demeaning, even hateful towards others. You shouldn't be made to feel stupid for asking a question. Some people have more experience than others and the only way to learn is to ask. While I do think it is more expensive to buy Crisco in stick form than it is to buy it buy the tub and measure it out each time, I also think it is easier and a lot less mess. You're the one using and paying for it, so it should be your choice. It certainly doesn't make you lazy. Also, she was wrong because each stick is one cup, unlike a stick of butter which is a 1/2 cup. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I pretty much followed the recipe, though I did decrease the sugar by half a cup. I don't like things so sweet so they were perfect for me this way. I didnt have crisco, so I just subbed margarine. The cookies turned great- very soft. After my first batch I tried making them a bit smaller and patting them down to flatten before putting them in the oven. When sandwiched they are really big! The problem with making them smaller/thinner is they become more delicate. You might want to experiment a bit with the size. The fudge turned out great. I made it on the stove in a double boiler (afraid of burning the chocolate in the microwave). I added just a pinch of salt to the chips and condensed milk, as this is usually called for when I have made fudge in other recipes. Overall, really good and would be fun to do with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmzhao82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Peanut butter and chocolate make for a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very good, used a bit less sugar, 1/4 C. to 1/2 C. less is about right. Used butter, it is natural, and has a taste that cannot be matched! Same measurements as with the crisco. Good recipe to make with kids, too. **Also, when melting the chocolate, use 1/2 power or less, and stir the chips at 30 second intervals, even if they seem whole and unmelted, or just use a double boiler which is what I prefer; on a low / med heat, without boiling the water and don't let any moisture get into the chocolate or it can / will seize it (make it hard and crusty), and make the texture and taste less than satifactory. I do have to warn you all, these will not last long, you may want to hide some for yourself or for later in the freezer or in the back of the cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I'm just now finishing up this recipe. I used real butter instead of Crisco and the cookies taste great but I'm still waiting on the fudge filling to cool. At first I made the filling the way the recipe states...in the microwave, but it never melted correctly...it looked crumbly, not smooth. So then, I attempted to re-melt it on the stove top in a double boiler and it looked better but didn't seem to be the right consistency. It was very difficult to spread and the cookies didn't "stay together". For this reason I gave it four stars. Next time I'll take the advice of other posters and cut back on the sugar, the cookies are good but way to sweet for my liking. To Coralie; one stick of Crisco shortening equals two sticks of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pat
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I just tried this recipe. I followed it to the T and they came out pretty good. They are very sweet so i might adjust the sugar next time. To make them look pretty make balls with your hands and then flatten them out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swiatek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Tried this a few days ago. Baked the cookies one day, and made filling & filled them the next day. I think I'm missing the flavor butter would bring to the cookies, so next time I'll try half and half butter & shortening. (I always use Jif..best taste!) I made the balls of dough pretty small...maybe 1"...then barely flattened a bit, and this worked well. Filling worked well in the micro with my 'melt' setting. Tried spreading the filling, but what worked GREAT was to roll the filling into little balls (it is NOT sticky, surprisingly!), place the filling ball on cookie and flatten slightly, then put the other cookie on top and wiggle it into place. Then you have a nice, neatly filled cookie that looks like the one in the photo! This made a lot - I did not count them - and they are over halfway GONE....and they were supposed to be for Christmas-giving!! Gotta find a hiding place for them.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The cookies are nice, but nobody here was too excited about the filling. I will probably make the cookies again, but skip the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I think these cookies are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe is good. But the only thing I would do differently is flatten out the cookies before baking. They are too thick with both cookies and the fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States