Fudge Chunkies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by D
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great cookie that's fudgy and chewy with a crunchy outer skin). Use good quality chocolate for the chunks. I didn't use raisins or pecans. They were exactly what I was searching for!! The only reason I rated 5 stars is because they were a bother once cold (there is no way you can shape them before chilling as the batter is similar to a brownie batter at that stage). Next time, I will pour the batter onto plastic wrap and shape into a cylinder then cut up and bake. Oh, and the ones that were not flattened out after placing on cookie sheet baked thicker and chewier. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
With a son far away at college - I have made MANY cookie recipes to send in care packages and this is the ONLY one I have reviewed because it is so very good. I made the recipe as printed - turned out fabulous, chewy inside, delicate crust outside. My son asked me to send them again - the first time he has asked for an encore! He asked to make it without the raisans, which of course I will. Other reviewers have ommitted the raisans without ill effect of the cookie's consistancy. Personally, I could not taste any raisan, so if I were making these for myself, I would include the raisans. You can feel confident when you make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I just finished baking these lovely cookies and sampled when cool enough. They look just like the posted pictures with the glossy sheen and visibility of ingredients. I made several changes but nothing that I think took away from the original recipe. I used chocolate chips for melting however I used chocolate chunks as the add in. I used regular unsweetened Hershey cocoa instead of Dutch and salted butter (omitting salt) instead of unsalted. I diced the raisins into small pieces and probably didn't use the whole 1/3 cup. I like the raisin addition but don't like to get a whole raisin in a bite. I mixed everything with a whisk by hand (very easily done) then put my bowl of dough in freezer for 15-20 minutes as I didn't have time to wait the 1 hour in refrigerator. I doubled the recipe and got 20 cookies per recipe. I baked for 15 minutes then removed from oven. I let them cool on cookie sheet for 5-10 minutes before I moved to cooling rack. They were crispy soft on outside and fudge-y soft inside. Yum!!!! I made them for my son as part of his Father's Day gift (he loves chocolate) but I know I will be making these again to share with co-workers and church family. I don't usually get excited about cookie recipes but this one is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Followed all directions and they turned out beautifully. Excellent flavor. They come out of the oven puffy and it was fun to watch them crinkle - watching cookies cool?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Like others, I had to double the recipe ... and they still disappear! My only change (this time) was to use dark chocolate chips to melt with the butter, and then white chocolate chips to fold in to the batter because that's what I had on hand. One of our favorite cookies - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Loved these! Great texture... soft yet chewy. Rich flavor.. I used extra brute dark cocoa and Hershey bars for the chocolate chips. I added a bag of mint chips. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Amazing! I made it exactly as is and with my own twist. Super soft the next day and tastes delicious. I didn't care for the raisins. For my twist, I added chocolate chunks and macadamia nuts. Next time I am going to add more nuts to it so that they are chunkier. I refrigerated the dough for a few hours. I used an ice cream scoop (the one with the release thing in it) to gather the dough, plopped them on the tray and baked for 15 minutes. I didn't flatten them either, which helped them stay a little chunkier after baking. They seemed kind of gooey but that's the key to not over cooking them. Definitely tasted like a professionally made cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
The only problem with this recipe is that it didn't make enough of these cookies! I will definitely be making a double or triple serving next time. and I dropped the raisins,, it just doesn't seem to go with the rest of it. and i also indulged a little in more chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabella in NE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were delicious cookies! They were very chocolaty, and the nuts and raisins really complimented it. I used dark chocolate cocoa powder, and it worked out great! (That is if you are a chocolate lover)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a dark chocolate cookie with a huge chocolate impact. Delicious! I ended up making 24 cookies and still cooked them for 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States